Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Flavor was good, found it way too salty. Next time I wouldn't add any salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I'm from New Hampshire so I've been eating traditional Boston Baked Beans my whole life so I know what they should taste like and I'll tell you this recipe is a winner! I shortcut the process by pressure cooking my beans, and even tho people have a fit I don't soak my beans anymore. IMHO it doesn't do a darn thing for the after effects or the taste and just takes up more of my time. Anyway, I thought the stuff looked a little strange when I mixed it up in the slow cooker, but I took it on faith that it'd turn out. I don't use a slow cooker often, so what do I know about what it's supposed to look like, anyway? I went to bed with the stuff going and when I got up in the morning my whole house smelled amazing. (Always a good sign) I opened the lid on my crock pot, and oh happy day! Beautiful brown, sweet baked beans with a gorgeous thick sauce! People were practically pile driving into them at the BBQ, and the leftovers didn't last long! I'm a true believer now and I have no plans to ever make baked beans in the oven again. To all you people who think you have to fiddle with every recipe you come across (which I admit I'm usually one of them), do yourself a favor and make this exactly as it says once before you mess with it; you'll be glad you did. I may someday sub out half the molasses with maple syrup to make it taste like my Vermont born and raised grandmothers recipe, but that's a nostalgia thing for me, not a reflection on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I used soldier beans and pure VT maple syrup as the sweetener. I love the crock pot deal...no watching a bean pot for hours on end. My only complaint would be that the beans sort of turn mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
These beans are cooking now, and my house smells amazing! I will admit, I snitched a taste (you have to try something before serving to guests, right?) and they are very tasty! I can't wait to have a serving with our ribs for our Canada Day celebration! These beans are easy to put together, and I followed the recipe as written. I will add a bit of salt toward the end of the cooking time, and that is the only change I will make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STREEVES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Absolute must to pre-cook the beans until they are soft enough to eat as is. When you drain out the water you are also removing the undigestible sugars which is a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
liquid turned out wierd this time. maybe boil first?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This came out absolutely beautiful! I had most of the ingredients, except pepper; so I substituted it for Montreal Steak Spice (scythe I think is the actual name) and used the same amount. It does have a bite to it, but then again I like my food like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trevorl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Doaktown, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is a great basic recipe for baked beans. I soaked the beans for 24 hours and did not pre-cook them and they were perfectly soft and tasty not too mushy. I added another cup of water in the crock because I like a thinner sauce and a tablespoon of cider vinegar for a little contrast to the sweetness. As to other posters whose beans remained hard after cooking- this has a lot to do with the age of your dried beans. Old beans take a really really long time to cook. Sometimes they do not get soft at all. It has nothing to do with the directions of this recipe. Which in my opinion would make beans slightly overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Easy to make and delicious; careful with the brown sugar - the first batch I made were too sweet - lightened up on the brown sugar to taste and they were absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States