Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
The recipe was good, and the beans were tender, but I had to add a few things to heighten the flavor. 1/2 tsp liquid smoke,1/2 tsp salt, 1 cup ketchup, 2 jalapenos chopped,and 2 tbls vinegar. I just like more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
So good! My only problem was that I didn't cook before hand, just soaked over night, and because I was making a smaller recipe I didn't get to cook them as long so they were a little bit hard. But delicious in flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I'n giving this one three stars, even though mine were inedable. The flavor was fantastic, but my beans never fully cooked. I took the suggestion of a few reviewers and didn't pre-cook (did pre-soak) the beans and I'm sure that was where I went wrong. I will try this one again, due to the "sauce" of the beans being really flavorfull, but will be sure to pre-cook my beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This recipe comes out delicious. So easy to follow! The only change I made was to add coktail weiners. I added them for the last 20 mintes. Came out awesome. A real hit with company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I cooked this in the slow cooker the day before our bbq and I am so glad i did. There was way too much water. The day of the bbq I had to strain the liquid out and I added more brown sugar and molases and I also added bacon on top of if and slow cooked it again for about 5 more hours and THEN they turned out good, but not the best. I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Great, easy recipe. I added a little salt and a little more molassess. I did find the cooking time way off. I filled my crockpot at midnight, set it to low and by 6 am the beans were done to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
This is an very good recipe. I really appreciated being able to make this in a slow cooker so not heat up my kitchen by using my oven in the summer. I doubled the recipe to serve a larger group. I did add just a bit more molassas and brown suger and just a tad of Liquid Smoke to the recipe but even before making those changes the favor was good and the consistency was perfect. I will certaintly be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Finally, a recipe for baked beans that doesn't start with canned baked beans. What is the point? Anyway, it is a fine recipe. I haven't made it for years and needed a refresher course on the ingredients and the proceedure. I'm not sure why you cook unsoaked beans, refrigerate and then use a cup of it's liquid. But hey, whatever. I used your recipe as a guide and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Fabulous! We omitted the salt pork (we're on a low/no sodium diet), and it was still wonderful. The beans did come out somewhat thick -- we thinned them with more water before serving. How wonderful to be able to have baked beans again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
I have to say, I was disappointed. They turned out dry and tasted "strange". I've eaten plenty of baked beans in my life and these didn't taste right. I was looking forward to sharing a Canadian classic with my south american husband and I don't think he'll be willing to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States