Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
The recipe was good, and the beans were tender, but I had to add a few things to heighten the flavor. 1/2 tsp liquid smoke,1/2 tsp salt, 1 cup ketchup, 2 jalapenos chopped,and 2 tbls vinegar. I just like more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
So good! My only problem was that I didn't cook before hand, just soaked over night, and because I was making a smaller recipe I didn't get to cook them as long so they were a little bit hard. But delicious in flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I'n giving this one three stars, even though mine were inedable. The flavor was fantastic, but my beans never fully cooked. I took the suggestion of a few reviewers and didn't pre-cook (did pre-soak) the beans and I'm sure that was where I went wrong. I will try this one again, due to the "sauce" of the beans being really flavorfull, but will be sure to pre-cook my beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This recipe comes out delicious. So easy to follow! The only change I made was to add coktail weiners. I added them for the last 20 mintes. Came out awesome. A real hit with company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I cooked this in the slow cooker the day before our bbq and I am so glad i did. There was way too much water. The day of the bbq I had to strain the liquid out and I added more brown sugar and molases and I also added bacon on top of if and slow cooked it again for about 5 more hours and THEN they turned out good, but not the best. I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Great, easy recipe. I added a little salt and a little more molassess. I did find the cooking time way off. I filled my crockpot at midnight, set it to low and by 6 am the beans were done to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
This is an very good recipe. I really appreciated being able to make this in a slow cooker so not heat up my kitchen by using my oven in the summer. I doubled the recipe to serve a larger group. I did add just a bit more molassas and brown suger and just a tad of Liquid Smoke to the recipe but even before making those changes the favor was good and the consistency was perfect. I will certaintly be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Finally, a recipe for baked beans that doesn't start with canned baked beans. What is the point? Anyway, it is a fine recipe. I haven't made it for years and needed a refresher course on the ingredients and the proceedure. I'm not sure why you cook unsoaked beans, refrigerate and then use a cup of it's liquid. But hey, whatever. I used your recipe as a guide and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Fabulous! We omitted the salt pork (we're on a low/no sodium diet), and it was still wonderful. The beans did come out somewhat thick -- we thinned them with more water before serving. How wonderful to be able to have baked beans again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
I have to say, I was disappointed. They turned out dry and tasted "strange". I've eaten plenty of baked beans in my life and these didn't taste right. I was looking forward to sharing a Canadian classic with my south american husband and I don't think he'll be willing to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States