Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Followed recipe exact! These were not very good! Turned out with "refried bean" consistency! Mush! Needed something but I couldn't figure out what? I won't make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Bland and mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Studhauler
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
excellent ive had beans that say ketchup no way would I put that in my beans im from maine the salt pork makes a much better bean then bacon also this is good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Flavor was good, found it way too salty. Next time I wouldn't add any salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I'm from New Hampshire so I've been eating traditional Boston Baked Beans my whole life so I know what they should taste like and I'll tell you this recipe is a winner! I shortcut the process by pressure cooking my beans, and even tho people have a fit I don't soak my beans anymore. IMHO it doesn't do a darn thing for the after effects or the taste and just takes up more of my time. Anyway, I thought the stuff looked a little strange when I mixed it up in the slow cooker, but I took it on faith that it'd turn out. I don't use a slow cooker often, so what do I know about what it's supposed to look like, anyway? I went to bed with the stuff going and when I got up in the morning my whole house smelled amazing. (Always a good sign) I opened the lid on my crock pot, and oh happy day! Beautiful brown, sweet baked beans with a gorgeous thick sauce! People were practically pile driving into them at the BBQ, and the leftovers didn't last long! I'm a true believer now and I have no plans to ever make baked beans in the oven again. To all you people who think you have to fiddle with every recipe you come across (which I admit I'm usually one of them), do yourself a favor and make this exactly as it says once before you mess with it; you'll be glad you did. I may someday sub out half the molasses with maple syrup to make it taste like my Vermont born and raised grandmothers recipe, but that's a nostalgia thing for me, not a reflection on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Heiderich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I used soldier beans and pure VT maple syrup as the sweetener. I love the crock pot deal...no watching a bean pot for hours on end. My only complaint would be that the beans sort of turn mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
These beans are cooking now, and my house smells amazing! I will admit, I snitched a taste (you have to try something before serving to guests, right?) and they are very tasty! I can't wait to have a serving with our ribs for our Canada Day celebration! These beans are easy to put together, and I followed the recipe as written. I will add a bit of salt toward the end of the cooking time, and that is the only change I will make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STREEVES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Absolute must to pre-cook the beans until they are soft enough to eat as is. When you drain out the water you are also removing the undigestible sugars which is a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
liquid turned out wierd this time. maybe boil first?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States