Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I was really skeptical about ribs in a slow cooker, so I tried this recipe twice to make sure that the first time wasn't a fluke. I am a convert, that's for sure. These were amazing! First time, I made it exactly as the recipe called for and these ribs were fall off the bone good. The second time, I added smoked paprika and garlic powder to the rub on the ribs before I put them in the slow cooker. I also used 1/2 cup of beer instead of the water (any liquid will add flavour). I cooked them on high in the slow cooker for 3 hours and 45 minutes. I covered a 9 x 11 baking dish with tin foil (to help with clean up) and put the ribs in the uncovered baking dish. I coated the ribs with bbq sauce and put them in the oven at 350F for 20 minutes. I pulled the ribs out and added another thin layer of bbq sauce before putting them back in the oven under the broiler for 7 to 10 minutes to get that crust on the top. The ribs were perfect. My family thanks you for this recipe which I will be using again and again! Amanda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
559 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Hey everyone! I'm the person that posted this recipe and I appreciate all the feedback (good and bad) along with what everyone did to make it their own. I read over some of the recommendations, and this is what I did to make this recipe even better. I replaced the water with Pepsi, added about a tbsp of liquid smoke, and seasoned the ribs with a rub of salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder and brown sugar. Added the onion and garlic as stated in the recipe, and cooked them on high for just under 4 hours and followed the rest of the directions. With these changes, I love the recipe even more (though as many people have stated, it's pretty excellent as written)! I know that many people love them to 'fall off the bone', but good ribs should still have a nice bite and pull when you bite into them. Adjust the cooking time accordingly, but for my slow cooker, they are cooked perfectly between 3.5 and 4 hours. Thanks again for all the feedback!! ~Norah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
311 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
These ribs were really good- I was surprised as the recipe was very simple and didn't take much time. My whole family really enjoyed these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I have recently tried several BBQ rib recipes and this is the best one yet. I made it exactly the way the recipe was written and they were falling off the bone delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Marinade the night before with red wine vinegar, soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce, black pepper, olive oil, minced garlic and Dijon mustard. Then follow recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Slow cooking makes the difference here. Instead of finishing in the oven, I basted with sauce and placed them on a medium-heat grill for 15-20 minutes. Turn every 5 minutes and baste the meaty side 1-2 more times until desired level of caramelization (is that a word?). Great recipe! We will use it every time we make ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I made these today and they were INCREDIBLE. I followed the recipe exactly except for one addition. I marinated the ribs overnight in a mixture of Worchestershire, soy sauce, red wine vinegar, minced garlic, and sea salt. I served them with loaded baked potatoes, homemade rolls, and salad. Thanks for the fantastic recipe. I will definitely make my ribs like this from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This is an excellent "cheater" recipe for the most part. Still, it fell from perfection because the cooking time was too long. Hubs and I do far too much rib eating in our travels and one thing we've learned from the experts is that, contrary to popular belief, you don't WANT your ribs to fall off the bone. If that's the state they end up in they've been cooked too long (or stewed). We like our ribs tender, yet with the meat still clinging to the bone. I cooked them just short of 4 hours on high, and if I do this again I'd shorten that by an hour. The finish in the oven, however, was just right - 15 minutes at 375 degrees resulted in a sticky, caramelized, glazed exterior. I didn't bother with either the onion or garlic, but I did season them with a good rub seasoning a few hours before I started them in the Crock Pot. The bottom line? In spite of not being smoked or grilled, and in spite of too long a stint in the Crock Pot, these were some "D" fine ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Not bad, but the rib meat didn't have much flavor. If I try it again, I think I would marinate the meat overnight, and use a can of beer instead of water, to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
The best ribs I ever made! I followed some of the reviews and used coke instead of water. I slow cooked them for 3.5 hours because I checked and the meat was already falling off the bone and I wanted them intact though soft. From the crockpot it was straight to the broiler and let them brown on both sides then brushed them with a generous amount of Sweet Baby Rays BBQ Sweet & Spicy BBQ sauce and browned more. I do not have enough words to express how these turned out but will try - INCREDIBLY OUT OF THIS WORLD and my family were so impressed. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States