Slow Cooker BBQ Flat Iron Steak Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This dish was delicious, and I do not say that easily. Very nice taste and it is so simple to make. I added a fresh onion in place of dried minced onion and it was a hit with the whole family. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Mills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Excellent - used chopped onion - A-1 and syrup. But all good. Had lots of au jus.... putting this on the permanent rotation - especially with a large group!! Thanks for quick, easy and cheap!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This was really good. It didn't look appetizing at first but it tasted quite good on nice soft kaiser rolls. My husband liked it so much he ate some in a sandwich then a bowl of just the meat. Easy to throw together too. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This was great! I put it in the crock pot before I went to work, cooked on low for 6 hours...yum! Will make this again, even the kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
My family just loves this! I've made this several times for sandwiches and over mashed potatoes. I'm rather generous with the molasses. It's fork-tender every time! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This recipe fell short for us. While the meat was tender, there simply just wasn't enough flavor in the sauce for our tastes. I ended up adding bottled BBQ sauce which made it much more flavorful. Thanks for sharing this recipe for us to try, Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This is just an OK recipe. I followed the recipe exactly even used the dried chopped onion, I know some people have opted to use fresh onion instead but I made these for my sons dinner tonight and my youngest son refuse to eat it! I found the steak dry, the taste I personally did not like. Just did not taste like BBQ to me, my kids thought it was ok. I don't think this is a recipe I will be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
My hubby proclaimed this a definite keeper. So that's it! I followed the recipe with the exception of the onions-- I used a half of a fresh chopped onion. I made Honey Wheat Sandwich Rolls and Sweet Restaurant Slaw from this site to round out our dinner. The only thing I'd do different is to double the recipe and freeze some if it doesn't all get eaten! And I would try cutting the whole onion in slices rather than chopping so it'd fit better on the sandwich. I myself would really like this over rice rather than a sandwich, but however it's made would be just fine! Very easy recipe except for the job of cutting off the fat from the meat beforehand. I lost a pound of the meat purchase just from that, and it takes a little cutting to get to the slowcooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I came across a flat iron steak for cheap at the store and figured I'd find a way to cook it. This recipe surprised me. It had a different flavor and was easy to prepare. Instead of dried onion I added half a medium chopped onion. Not sure about using this on a sandwich since it was pretty "wet" in the crock pot. I served it over mashed potatoes with a side of green beans. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was very good. I did add a bit more molasses and a squirt of honey (my bf and I like our barbeque a little more on the sweet side), and I seasoned the beef with some spices. I also didn't have time to put it on high and then low, so I just kept it on low for about 6 hours, and it still turned out great. The only thing I would do differently next time would maybe be to add a tablespoon or so of cornstarch to thicken up the sauce a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States