Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
This is so easy and so delicious. I used 3 breasts and cooked on high for 3 hours and then shredded the chicken and cooked on low for another hour or so. I also used a little over a 1/4 cup maple syrup and added 1 Tablespoon corn starch to thicken. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdylou68

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gray, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I haven't made this recipe only because I'm not much of a bbq sauce person but I do have experience with all types of cooking. In my experience whether you make or buy bbq sauce more often than not it's going to have some level of sweet to it. Whether it has actual sugar, fruit juices, ketchup, or some other ingredient. If there isn't then it probably didn't come from the U.S.. Either that or those trying this recipe have no clue what the typical flavor of a pulled meat bbq sandwich is meant to taste like. If you didn't know it was meant to be sweet you shouldn't have even tried it. The fact some of you substituted a store bought premade sauce for the maple syrup is an insult. You should've used that in place of the scratch recipe to begin with or attempted to adjust it to your tastes. I bet you're the types who smother A-1 sauce on every steak you eat as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael “Chris” Byrnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Globe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
I really enjoyed how easy this was to make, did not have to go out and buy specific ingredients only to use once! Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
My family loved this and are asking me to make it again. No complaints with the original recipe from the family. However, I am going to cut the maple syrup down, and add BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
We loved this recipe! Use a hand blender to shred up the chicken faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Prospect, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Awesome!! Instead of 1 full cup of ketchup, I used ½ ketchup & ½ bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
made this overnight…….delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
i used thighs and followed the recipe but just ok. next time use a jar bbq. i had it on high 2 hrs and then low for 1. good on soft hamburger rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Based on other reviews, I cut the maple syrup in half and it came out wonderful. Definitely would have been too sweet if I used the full 1/2 cup as in the recipe. Overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States