Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Delicious! I reduce the maple syrup to 1/4 cup and add 1/4 cup of Sweet Baby Ray's Hickory and Brown Sugar BBQ sauce for a little bit of smokiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This recipe was just.....ok. It was a little on the sweet side. If I make this again, I might use less maple syrup. I also added one chopped onion to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I am supposed to give this 5 stars. Even though I made it for a night I had to work for the family. My BF loved it!!! And so did my kids (they can be hard to please) The kids even ate it all. So yes this is a keeper in my book! Instead of rolls I made home made bread in the bread machine to put it onto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyanna Gray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was delicious! As other reviewers suggested, I cut the maple syrup down to 1/4 cup and added 1/4 cup bottled BBQ sauce (I used Stubbs). I used 2 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts but still used the full amount of sauce called for the ensure the chicken did not dry out. I cooked mine on high and they were done in 3 1/2 hours. I served this with whole wheat tortillas, shredded cheddar cheese and lettuce. Thanks for the delicious and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Recipe worked well. Was sweet for a BBQ sauce if your interested in a more tangy spicy flavor. I would try with a cheaper cut of meat such as a pork end or chicken thighs/legs. The idea of braising meat in a crockpot such as this recipe usually allows for the fat of the meat to work into the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This really was quite tasty...I rolled up the shredded chicken in warm flour tortillas...kids loved it! Serve along with a crisp green salad and dinner is on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Very good recipe. My husband and 13 yr old son loved it. Had ingredients on hand and was very easy and good. Did cut back on the syrup due to other reviews stating was too sweet. Was worried that it would be to spicey with the pepper and hot sauce, but it was just perfect. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
The sauce I didn't think have a real BBQ flavor. I ended up adding almost a bottle of Head Country BBQ sauce. The one thing i did like is how it gave it spice. I would make it again, it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
AWESOME! This could not be easier to make. Perfect for days when you're going to be out most of the day. Just throw in the crock pot and forget about it for hours. The sauce is on the sweet side, which is great if you like it, but easy enough to cut back on the maple syrup if you don't. The chicken came out perfectly, not at all dry like I was concerned about. One of the best all around recipes I've tried in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was ok. Not great, but ok. I think we'd have been better off just throwing the meat in with BBQ sauce over it. It needed more sauce as it dried out fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States