Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
very good-different-and easy to prepare in morning prior to work.Used real maple syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I made it in the oven baked 350F for an hour, shredded chicken easily, added some store bought BBQ and it was good and also a good leftover. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was absolutely amazing!!! It was so juicy, tender, and the flavor was seriously a part of the chicken. It wasn't like chicken and you added sauce on top, the chicken WAS the sauce. It was amaaaazing. Seriously. Try it. You will LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bribabe7065

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
wonderfully easy and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo the cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I added the barbecue sauce like other recommendations have suggested. We still found the chicken to be a little bland. Adding a nice coleslaw to the sandwiches did help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This was a great base recipe. I tweaked it a bit based on other reviews that said it was too sweet. Since I love maple flavoring I did not decrease the syrup. Ketchup is full of sugar, so I replaced the ketchup with 6 oz of tomato paste mixed with enough V-8 juice to equal 1 cup (about 3 oz of juice). I added a tablespoon of Dijon mustard, as well as the regular prepared mustard, and added 1/4 teaspoon of onion powder since my ketchup has that in it. I used all the remaining ingredients in this recipe except the chili powder. I replaced that with 1/2 teaspoon of Misty's Bar-B-Q seasoning, which I just happened to find in my cupboard. I did not use the optional dashes of hot sauce. This turned out delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This was great! Followed the recipe exactly - it was a little sweet, but it did taste like a sloppy joe with chicken. The kids loved it! Served it on a whole wheat roll. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Great flavor...I used Gouldens for the mustard, and a locally produced Chipotle hot sauce. But this was the first time I tried this recipe, and if my results are typical, it should be called "Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken Soup". The resultant "sauce" was entirely too watery...not thick like good BBQ sauce should be. This recipe will be a good jumping off point for the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was VERY good the first night, we spooned it right out of the slow cooker while it was still hot. My husband loved it and he is very picky about BBQ (he's a BBQ snob!) However, I went back to heat up some leftovers the next day, after it sat in the fridge and really had a chance to absorb all that extra sauce, and it was too sweet for me the 2nd day. First night it was slightly sweet and tangy with a little bit of a spicy-ness to it, very good. Second day, too sweet for me. Maybe it's just the type of thing that just tastes better right out of the pot. I think this would be good on nachos too. A few alterations - I left out the mustard altogether...my husband and I both hate the taste of mustard (even when there is just a tiny bit in the recipe, we both seem to be able to taste it, we just aren't mustard people). I also halved the amount of maple syrup and added about 1/4 cup of bottled bbq sauce - ok, I cheated. But I just didn't like the idea of using all that maple syrup, so I cut it in half with a bottled sauce. And I used 3 large breasts instead of 4 - the 3 breasts fit perfect in my slow cooker without crowding each other, and i thought the sauce-to-chicken ratio was perfect with 3 large breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I'm sorry for being one of those guys that alters a recipe and then rates the original...busted. OK, so I used three giant breasts, plus they fit in the big cooker (not my puny one). I used NO SALT ketchup, Reduced salt Worcestershire sauce, Dijon mixed with yellow mustard, a splash of white wine, Some diced Garlic and sliced red onion also. Added a cup of KC's Original Masterpiece...blah blah blah BBQ sauce. I did use about 1/8 cup sugar free maple syrup as well. The seasonings and hot sauce DO add some zing to it. Probably good as written, better for ME the ways I altered it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Mountlake Terrace, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States