Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Great flavor...I used Gouldens for the mustard, and a locally produced Chipotle hot sauce. But this was the first time I tried this recipe, and if my results are typical, it should be called "Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken Soup". The resultant "sauce" was entirely too watery...not thick like good BBQ sauce should be. This recipe will be a good jumping off point for the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was VERY good the first night, we spooned it right out of the slow cooker while it was still hot. My husband loved it and he is very picky about BBQ (he's a BBQ snob!) However, I went back to heat up some leftovers the next day, after it sat in the fridge and really had a chance to absorb all that extra sauce, and it was too sweet for me the 2nd day. First night it was slightly sweet and tangy with a little bit of a spicy-ness to it, very good. Second day, too sweet for me. Maybe it's just the type of thing that just tastes better right out of the pot. I think this would be good on nachos too. A few alterations - I left out the mustard altogether...my husband and I both hate the taste of mustard (even when there is just a tiny bit in the recipe, we both seem to be able to taste it, we just aren't mustard people). I also halved the amount of maple syrup and added about 1/4 cup of bottled bbq sauce - ok, I cheated. But I just didn't like the idea of using all that maple syrup, so I cut it in half with a bottled sauce. And I used 3 large breasts instead of 4 - the 3 breasts fit perfect in my slow cooker without crowding each other, and i thought the sauce-to-chicken ratio was perfect with 3 large breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I'm sorry for being one of those guys that alters a recipe and then rates the original...busted. OK, so I used three giant breasts, plus they fit in the big cooker (not my puny one). I used NO SALT ketchup, Reduced salt Worcestershire sauce, Dijon mixed with yellow mustard, a splash of white wine, Some diced Garlic and sliced red onion also. Added a cup of KC's Original Masterpiece...blah blah blah BBQ sauce. I did use about 1/8 cup sugar free maple syrup as well. The seasonings and hot sauce DO add some zing to it. Probably good as written, better for ME the ways I altered it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Mountlake Terrace, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I made this for supper tonight and had a very hard time waiting for my husband to get home from work!!! I halved the maple syrup and added some smoked paprika and onion powder and it was just perfect! I served it over some grain-free biscuits. It was just the two of us and there is not much left over, it was so good. I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HECTORBOYARDEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Very good thank you.... easy dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Off the wall Iris Lady
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iris Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
The original is WAY too sweet. I thought it had potential though so I tried again with a finely chopped onion, only 2 Tbsp of maple syrup, 1 tsp chopped garlic instead of powder, and 1 tsp. Wright's Natural Hickory Seasoning. It was very good once it was tweaked but the 3-stars are for the original. Being gluten-intolerant, of course, I skipped the buns but this is very good as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This came out great and I didn't change recipe. i have 4 picky eaters and they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This was wonderful. I didn't have maple syrup on hand so I added 1 tablespoon of sugar as a substitute. I will definintely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bloomer Hoerth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States