Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I loved this recipe and even the most picky eater of the house enjoyed it. I took tips from other readers to skip the maple syrup and to use 1/4 cup brown sugar, 3/4 cup barbecue sauce (Sweet Baby Ray's Honey Chipotle) a medium onion finely chopped, 2 cloves of garlic, and Louisiana Hot Sauce to taste. Cooking my thawed chix for 3.5 hours on high kept it moist and tender. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This was pretty good and so easy to make. I did make changes to the bbq sauce as I felt it was too sweet for my taste. I decreased the maple syrup by quite a bit, increased the worcestershire and added malt vinegar. Overall not bad. The kids enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcfrk01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Is is AMAZING and the definite "secrete" ingredient is truly the Sweet Baby Ray 's BBQ Sauce is what completes the dish and makes it a one of a kind. I'd recommend this to anyone who loves BBQ chicken dishes-- KUDOS on a terrific recipe!!! We loved this one ????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Driggers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I could not follow this recipe to a T, because I did not have enough maple syrup. I added a little bit of brown sugar and some store bought sweet barbecue sauce. The main thing I did not like about this recipe is that it tasted way too salty for me... Still fairly good, but I will look for another similar recipe to tweak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candleraymond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rockbridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Amazing! Great as-is, but also delicious and not so sweet with this quick change: replace half of the maple syrup (1/4 cup) with Sweet Baby Ray's Hickory and Brown Sugar BBQ Sauce. It adds a great smoky flavor which really complements the rest of the sauce. I'd eat this every other night if I could :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
the whole family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
It's like pulled pork but it's chicken. I made 2 substitutions based on personal tastes. I switched the ketchup for BBQ sauce since I like that better and I can't stand Worcestershire so I opted for more hot sauce. Soy probably would have also been a good substitute too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This was a rally easy and excellent dish to make. It went down really well and was made with the ingredients from my cupboard, so easy when that happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trilbie Robinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I am cooking this recipe today for the third time! Absolutely love it! Per the other reviews, I also did 1/4 cup of the maple syrup and 1/4 cup of BBQ sauce (I chose original Jack Daniels). This is a great, quick, slow cooker recipe. When cooked on high, it will be done in 3.5 hours. Easy and delicious. Can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I really liked this recipe but I messed up on the sauce, I think. I added a bit too much Worschester Sauce I think, and I added some vinegar. To counteract the forwardness of these two ingredients, I added about 4 T of honey, about 1 c of water and 1/4 c brown sugar. Once I did that, I reduced it and the flavors balanced beautifully. I suspect that if I had just followed the recipe without the vinegar and you know, actually MEASURED the Worchester, my outcome would have been different from the start. Overall though, it was delicious and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States