Slow Cooker Au Jus Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bcase
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I followed the recipe to the best of my ability. I didn't measure most of the little stuff. Just eyeballed it really. It came out wonderful. I added small red potatoes into the slow cooker about 2 hours before it was done. Everyone loved it and I will for sure make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
The strong coffee definitely make the difference. I made this following the directions, and using a Hereford bottom roast. It was delicious and kept well refrigerated several days. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This was super simple to make, only took me like 10 minutes to put together. I did slice up half an onion and a couple cloves of garlic and threw those in under the roast. Oh and I didn't have tomato sauce so I had to use v8. When it was done I took half the sauce and thickened it up for gravy. Flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
We loved this recipe! I love too that you can use leftover coffee from the morning to make it. Really tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I made this for Christmas for my in-laws and everyone raved. So delicious! Tender and super easy to make! I recommend this recipe highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Hipwell
Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This turned out great. I could not taste the coffee at all and it wasn't too tomatoey. I've made it twice now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I'm not sure why this got so many rave reviews. I will say the roast was EXTREMELY tender and juicy, but completely lacked in flavor. It was just bland to me. I think the coffee took away from the other flavors. The ONLY flavor that remotely came through, was a hint of black coffee. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caleyneel
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Very tender and flavorful. Easy and most ingredients I had on hand. Give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I did not think this roast would be good with the odd ingredients but, wow, it was! I prepared it as written except my 4 lb roast was cooked through and tender in six hours. I did not sear beforehand or use the bouillon cubes. I made my own Montreal seasoning, as well: garlic, coriander, black pepper, Cayenne pepper flakes, dill seed, and salt. I added some carrots, too, for color. I didn't give this recipe five stars since the cooking time is not accurate and I felt it needed more salt. However, the flavor profile is very good and no, you cannot taste the coffee at all nor is it overly tomato-y. Nice flavor and will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ava Flavah!

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States