Slow Cooker Au Jus Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Given the broad and varied array of ingredients I expected something different, unusual. Would I taste the coffee? Would it be tomato-y? Would it instead have its own unique flavor? I probably don’t need to mention that the aroma of this roast filled the kitchen all day, and it was wonderful. As I was eating this, I completely forgot that I was on the look-out for something unusual, noticing instead that what I was eating was a good old tender pot roast (I used a rump roast which I dredged in flour before browning) with a rich, beefy “jus.” No one ingredient stood out and in my mind that’s a good thing. So there was nothing particularly different or unusual about this, but I was not disappointed. It was just plain hearty and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this for company. I doubled the amount of coffee, a mistake, but was OK because we like lots of gravy. I thickened the sauce with cornstarch. I love Montreal Steak seasoning and it's a staple in my house. I will be making this many times over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This is really very, very good. I followed the recipe exactly, only I did slice an onion and minced a clove of garlic and put them in the crock pot under the roast. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. Well, I should say I didn't measure the spices or the Worcestershire sauce...I just eyeballed what looked good to me. Next time I may thicken the gravy, but this time I just ladled a big ol' spoonful over my portion...so moist, so tender and so tasty! 5 stars and a tip of my hat to you, crancherry :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Interesting twist if you are out of other "staples" for making crockpot roast. I also like the fact you can control the amount of sodium (unlike the recipes that use dry seasoning packets such as onion soup mix,etc). It's pretty hard to mess up a slow cooker roast, and this recipe resulted in a tasty, tender dinner. I always add onions at the beginning, and add carrots and potatos midway through cook time. I would like to give the one star reviewer zero stars for mis-using this forum as a grammar/spelling review. If you haven't tried the recipe, you have no bizznus writing reviews...of anything! The last time I checked, most grade schools are looking for volunteers, so perhaps that is a better use of your skills and talent :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I will try anything and needed a new pot roast idea. This sounded good. Followed the recipe to the letter. It was just ok. I had made some nice Czech style dumplings to go with the au jus. A waste of the dumplings. The roast looked and smelled great while searing... But my family was unimpressed, as was I. Something was missing in the flavor, and I am at a loss as to what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I haven't tried this yet, but I will soon...looks delicious! RE: the one star vote. I read the directions and yes, there is a "typo". Not too many of those on this website. I think most of the cooks that enjoy All Recipes will be able to make this dish without a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
My picky 11 yr old declared this was the best meat I've made so far and that I should make it again. I followed the recipe as stated except that I did slice an onion and put it in the bottom of the crock pot. I also then added baby red potatoes and carrots on top and around the meat so a complete meal would be ready when I got home. My husband loved it as well, it was the most tender, moist, fall off the bone roast I've ever done in the crockpot. Delicious! I have lots of left over juice and meat so I will thicken it into a stew for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Fantastic! The only thing I did differently was that I used some frozen pulverized tomatoes that I have from my garden (I am trying to use them up and didn't have a can of tomato sauce.) It worked out fine, but I would use the tomato sauce if I had it available next time. The meat was sooooo delicious, I kid you not. I will go to this recipe the next time I am making a pot roast...which will be soon, I'm sure, because everyone loved this one! Note: I did not need to cook it for 8 hours, because it was done way earlier than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Quick, easy, delish! I prefer the Roast Beef and Gravy from this site, but hubs DEVOURED and RAVED about this, so it gets a 5. We served on toast hot beef style to soak up the nice sauce. No, you dont taste the coffee and it's not too tomatoey either. Made this exactly as written, although I usually don't brown meat that I'm putting in a crockpot. I just think it's a wasted step and adds cleanup. I recommend this recipe especially if you are a newbie to cooking or using a crockpot. This will turn out fine without much fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Tasty although I thought au jus style gravy is thin, but this turned out quite thick. Tasty meat still though and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States