Slow Cooker Au Jus Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I haven't tried this yet, but I will soon...looks delicious! RE: the one star vote. I read the directions and yes, there is a "typo". Not too many of those on this website. I think most of the cooks that enjoy All Recipes will be able to make this dish without a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this for company. I doubled the amount of coffee, a mistake, but was OK because we like lots of gravy. I thickened the sauce with cornstarch. I love Montreal Steak seasoning and it's a staple in my house. I will be making this many times over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This is really very, very good. I followed the recipe exactly, only I did slice an onion and minced a clove of garlic and put them in the crock pot under the roast. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. Well, I should say I didn't measure the spices or the Worcestershire sauce...I just eyeballed what looked good to me. Next time I may thicken the gravy, but this time I just ladled a big ol' spoonful over my portion...so moist, so tender and so tasty! 5 stars and a tip of my hat to you, crancherry :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Given the broad and varied array of ingredients I expected something different, unusual. Would I taste the coffee? Would it be tomato-y? Would it instead have its own unique flavor? I probably don’t need to mention that the aroma of this roast filled the kitchen all day, and it was wonderful. As I was eating this, I completely forgot that I was on the look-out for something unusual, noticing instead that what I was eating was a good old tender pot roast (I used a rump roast which I dredged in flour before browning) with a rich, beefy “jus.” No one ingredient stood out and in my mind that’s a good thing. So there was nothing particularly different or unusual about this, but I was not disappointed. It was just plain hearty and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Awesome taste with a wonderful gravy!!!! I dont see how anyone can say this has an overpowering tomato taste. If you did not know the tomato sauce was in there it would be hard to identify the taste. I added one sliced onion and some fresh sliced mushrooms when I put it in the crock pot. My whole family loved this wonderful roast!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Do not let the odd combination of ingredients scare you away from this recipe. I made this for the family tonight, and followed it exactly (although I did add 1/2 an onion and 3 whole cloves of garlic to the slow cooker below the roast). It was delicious! Nobody could guess the secret ingredient (coffee), and there was no trace of tomato either. After the slow cooking process you are left with a rich, beefy jus, and tender fall apart roast. I also boiled some of the jus along with cornstarch to thicken, and served it on the meat an homemade mashed potatoes. I'm even saving the leftover gravy to liven up some chicken tomorrow. I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steffyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Made exactly as written. Did not skip a step. It was very good. Made a 3 lb. roast ready in about 6 hrs.in my not so slow slowcooker. I have had other roasts made in the oven that were better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
My picky 11 yr old declared this was the best meat I've made so far and that I should make it again. I followed the recipe as stated except that I did slice an onion and put it in the bottom of the crock pot. I also then added baby red potatoes and carrots on top and around the meat so a complete meal would be ready when I got home. My husband loved it as well, it was the most tender, moist, fall off the bone roast I've ever done in the crockpot. Delicious! I have lots of left over juice and meat so I will thicken it into a stew for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Interesting twist if you are out of other "staples" for making crockpot roast. I also like the fact you can control the amount of sodium (unlike the recipes that use dry seasoning packets such as onion soup mix,etc). It's pretty hard to mess up a slow cooker roast, and this recipe resulted in a tasty, tender dinner. I always add onions at the beginning, and add carrots and potatos midway through cook time. I would like to give the one star reviewer zero stars for mis-using this forum as a grammar/spelling review. If you haven't tried the recipe, you have no bizznus writing reviews...of anything! The last time I checked, most grade schools are looking for volunteers, so perhaps that is a better use of your skills and talent :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This was a hit in my house. Both my kids (3 & 6yr) asked for more! So glad I found this slow cooker recipe. My husband loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States