Slow Cooker Au Jus Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This was the most amazing pot roast I have ever tried! My husband definitely agreed! Thank you so much for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridge City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
finally O ONIONS! Can\t wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Just like other reviewers I was a little apprehensive of how good this would taste after looking at the ingredients, but this was delicious!! I eyeballed the amount of worcestershire sauce, used 2.5 teaspoons of oregano (I really like oregano). Also we didn't have the Montreal seasoning (although I swore we did!) so I sprinkled some cayenne, onion powder, garlic powder, and hamburger seasoning that we had. I seared on each side like suggested an I do think it is a needed step. I used basil garlic pasta sauce because thats what we had and when I took out the meat to thicken the gravy with corn starch, I used a stick blender to break up the tomato chunks. Overall great recipe will definitely be using this again!! My boyfriend and his family who I made this for, swore up and down that this had a gravy additive because it was that good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Fissel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Gorgeous!! Absolutely wonderful. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Outstanding gravy! Wow was that good! I have to say, though that I started out with homemade beef stock rather than using bouillon which I'm sure had a lot to do with the great flavor of the gravy. I did not add the coffee, nor did I add the steak seasoning. I did not have those on hand. I did add instead a little "Herbamare Spicy" and a little Tamari. I also prefer to sear the roast before adding it to the crock pot, but didn't have the time so I skipped that step. All in all the roast was falling apart tender and the gravy very possibly was the best I'd ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This was a hit in my house. Both my kids (3 & 6yr) asked for more! So glad I found this slow cooker recipe. My husband loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Interesting twist if you are out of other "staples" for making crockpot roast. I also like the fact you can control the amount of sodium (unlike the recipes that use dry seasoning packets such as onion soup mix,etc). It's pretty hard to mess up a slow cooker roast, and this recipe resulted in a tasty, tender dinner. I always add onions at the beginning, and add carrots and potatos midway through cook time. I would like to give the one star reviewer zero stars for mis-using this forum as a grammar/spelling review. If you haven't tried the recipe, you have no bizznus writing reviews...of anything! The last time I checked, most grade schools are looking for volunteers, so perhaps that is a better use of your skills and talent :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
My picky 11 yr old declared this was the best meat I've made so far and that I should make it again. I followed the recipe as stated except that I did slice an onion and put it in the bottom of the crock pot. I also then added baby red potatoes and carrots on top and around the meat so a complete meal would be ready when I got home. My husband loved it as well, it was the most tender, moist, fall off the bone roast I've ever done in the crockpot. Delicious! I have lots of left over juice and meat so I will thicken it into a stew for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Made exactly as written. Did not skip a step. It was very good. Made a 3 lb. roast ready in about 6 hrs.in my not so slow slowcooker. I have had other roasts made in the oven that were better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Do not let the odd combination of ingredients scare you away from this recipe. I made this for the family tonight, and followed it exactly (although I did add 1/2 an onion and 3 whole cloves of garlic to the slow cooker below the roast). It was delicious! Nobody could guess the secret ingredient (coffee), and there was no trace of tomato either. After the slow cooking process you are left with a rich, beefy jus, and tender fall apart roast. I also boiled some of the jus along with cornstarch to thicken, and served it on the meat an homemade mashed potatoes. I'm even saving the leftover gravy to liven up some chicken tomorrow. I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steffyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States