Slow Cooker Au Jus Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
The strong coffee definitely make the difference. I made this following the directions, and using a Hereford bottom roast. It was delicious and kept well refrigerated several days. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This was super simple to make, only took me like 10 minutes to put together. I did slice up half an onion and a couple cloves of garlic and threw those in under the roast. Oh and I didn't have tomato sauce so I had to use v8. When it was done I took half the sauce and thickened it up for gravy. Flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
We loved this recipe! I love too that you can use leftover coffee from the morning to make it. Really tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I made this for Christmas for my in-laws and everyone raved. So delicious! Tender and super easy to make! I recommend this recipe highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Hipwell
Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This turned out great. I could not taste the coffee at all and it wasn't too tomatoey. I've made it twice now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I'm not sure why this got so many rave reviews. I will say the roast was EXTREMELY tender and juicy, but completely lacked in flavor. It was just bland to me. I think the coffee took away from the other flavors. The ONLY flavor that remotely came through, was a hint of black coffee. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caleyneel
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Very tender and flavorful. Easy and most ingredients I had on hand. Give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I did not think this roast would be good with the odd ingredients but, wow, it was! I prepared it as written except my 4 lb roast was cooked through and tender in six hours. I did not sear beforehand or use the bouillon cubes. I made my own Montreal seasoning, as well: garlic, coriander, black pepper, Cayenne pepper flakes, dill seed, and salt. I added some carrots, too, for color. I didn't give this recipe five stars since the cooking time is not accurate and I felt it needed more salt. However, the flavor profile is very good and no, you cannot taste the coffee at all nor is it overly tomato-y. Nice flavor and will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ava Flavah!

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Tasty although I thought au jus style gravy is thin, but this turned out quite thick. Tasty meat still though and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States