Slow Cooker Apple-Scented Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Delicious! I think the apples take away the gamey taste. I omitted the oil and used one cup of beef broth in lieu of the hot water and bullion cube. Simple yet very tasty…I will make it again but I will probably salt and pepper to the roast before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
what change this is the best recipe for a deer roast yet. its so easy. First time i made it it cooled on low for 10 hours and still did not end dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This is a real keeper! I have never like venison before but this recipe changed that. It was just like having a beed roast. I did add all of the ingredients at once and put it on low and let it cook for about 8 hours. Thank you the apple were magical...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This recipe was super simple. I had a should roast with a small amount of fat on it, decided to add fresh mushrooms so I removed the roast (which was browning nicely) and sauteed mushrooms right in the crock pot. I didn't even add bouillion, just the water. I regret not taking a picture, it was very appetizing to look at. Meat was tender and moist. I will definitely share this recipe with my son who gave me the venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This is awesome, best crockpot venison roast I ever had, easiest too! Usually I follow a recipe to the T 1st time trying it, but, with this, the sauce was to thin so I omitted the C of water & poured the juice in a sauce pan and made gravy. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
My husband made this recipe, and it was delicious. Very moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clinton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This recipe is wonderful!! We're not big roast fans as a rule, but my husband is an avid hunter and brought home some this year. This is a great way to make it - very flavorful, and it smells great while it's cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I just tried this recipe last night and my husband and I loved it. This definitely adds variety to our venison recipes. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This was excellent. My husband is a steak and baked potatoe type of guy when it comes to his venison. He LOVED this though. The longer it cooked the more tender it was, at 6 hours it was still a little tough for my liking. At 8 it was perfect. The gravy was also fab over mashed potatoes! I rubbed the roast down with salt and pepper also before roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I have made venison roasts in a crockpot several times before, with different recipe variations, but they always came out dry and tasting like they were cooked in a crockpot. My husband LOVED this version; the roast stays moist and the flavor was so good. I will definitely recommend this to all the other hunter's wives I know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States