Slow Cooker Apple-Scented Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I prepared this recipe and added one little item. I used steak seasoning peppers and rubbed them into the roast. Added all the other ingredients and placed it in the crock pot with the apples. Family went crazy over this and so did their bosses...This is the best tasting roast I have had in a long time and I thank you for the idea of the apples. It made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This recipe was a hit...this is the second time that I am making it. The first time I made it, I wasn't sure I was going to like it because of the smell when the crock pot was opened. BUT it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I've been looking for recipes for venison. This was the best so far, but still not wonderful. The loin I used was still tough after cooking in a crockpot on low for 8 hours. The broth it made was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
GREAT recipe! My kids, my hubby and the neighbor kid thank you! Easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGIEBOZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cecil, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I have made venison roasts in a crockpot several times before, with different recipe variations, but they always came out dry and tasting like they were cooked in a crockpot. My husband LOVED this version; the roast stays moist and the flavor was so good. I will definitely recommend this to all the other hunter's wives I know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Delicious! I think the apples take away the gamey taste. I omitted the oil and used one cup of beef broth in lieu of the hot water and bullion cube. Simple yet very tasty…I will make it again but I will probably salt and pepper to the roast before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This was excellent. My husband is a steak and baked potatoe type of guy when it comes to his venison. He LOVED this though. The longer it cooked the more tender it was, at 6 hours it was still a little tough for my liking. At 8 it was perfect. The gravy was also fab over mashed potatoes! I rubbed the roast down with salt and pepper also before roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Beck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I just tried this recipe last night and my husband and I loved it. This definitely adds variety to our venison recipes. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Very tasty. I was worried that the roast would be a little dry but it had a great texture. I feel that it would be better with a touch of red wine in the crock while cooking. I made gravy in the crock as well after removing the roast. Instead of cornstarch of flour I used potatoe flakes as the thickener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
The apples are an essential key to removing any "gamey" taste the roast might have had. We made some alterations for a FANTASTIC pulled roast/stew recipe....First we rubbed salt, pepper and crushed rosemary onto the roast. Placed it into slowcooker with additions (onions, apple, loads of extra garlic), and let sit, covered, for about 10hours on low. In the morning, we added a 14oz can of beef broth, 1/2 bottle of Bell's Porter beer and a few chopped carrots and let it simmer until dinner time. NExt time we'll add a few more veggies to make the most DELICIOUS stew ever! But, as it was, we thoroughly enjoyed it in a bowl served over some cheesy mashed potatoes with gravy (made from the stock). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States