Slow Cooker Apple-Scented Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This is a great recipe. I made it for the Daytona 500. It was very tender. All the family and friends loved it. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This is the best recipe I have found for deer meat. You must keep in the slowcooker for at least twelve hours for it to become tender. I never liked deer roast until now, even my four year old granddaughter loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
So delicious! It didn't taste gamey at all. I didn't have the beef bouillion, so I strained the juices out of the crock pot. Fabulous! I added a little sugar to the juices before serving and it was heaven! I could barely cut it since it was so tender. It just fell apart. I cooked it on high for 3 hours and then low for 1. My 11 month old ate it up, as did my 7 and 6 year olds, husband and myself. Definitely a keeper! **Just wanted to add that I made it again the following week with applesauce instead of the apple and it was just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This is an excellent recipe for the venison stored in my freezer! Loved the idea of the apples. This roast came out so moist and tasted just like a beef roast. Left this in the slow cooker for 10hrs on low. I did rub salt and pepper on the roast and added extra garlic. Will definitely make this again! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Mackintosh
Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
very, very good and really easy! my husband is an avid hunter and gave this a big thumbs up, he absolutely loved it and I enjoyed it too. It makes for a great leftover sandwich too. I used the suggestion of beef broth instead of a boullion cube and water. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
My kids loved this recipe. I thought the meet was a litle dry but the taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I had never made deer before, and I loved this recipe. I did add half a can of beef broth, some fresh mushrooms, and I did two apples instead of one. I put it over mashed potatoes like someone else said to...and my family loved it. It was very tender and reminded me so much of beef, but was richer and better :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Lammers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Just finished eating this lovely roast. Definitely needs the gravy (tried it without the sauce and it was dry)I was pleasantly surprised that apple gravy would be so delicious! We ate it alongside mashed yams and potatos. Delicious and happy to have a different recipe for our freezer full of venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Tsuji

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Finally I tried this recipe and my husband and I were a little skeptical when we jad our first taste on the meat without the sauce. We changed our minds after adding it. It was simply delicious! I added some apple sauce on top of fresh apples and followed the rest of the instructions. We had great sauce for the roast but next time I will peel the skin off the apple before cooking as it was a little messing when I removed it after cooking, and blend onion and garlic and mix with the apple sauce to make the finish texture smoother. An absolute great recipe especially when you have time constrain and want to prepare a nice, decent meal. Definitely will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States