Slow Cooker Apple-Scented Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
use 2 granny smith apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Great Recipe!! We make alot of venison and this was superb! The apple really cut out the game taste, was just like a beef roast! Will use for all my venison roasts from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
great recipe! One point: as long as it is processed quickly and does not contain even a sliver of fat (which is rancid, on a deer), it will never be "gamey." However, you should not expect it to taste like beef, veal, pork etc. since it does have it's own unique flavor; thanks, again, for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lawman

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This was an exceptional recipe! Only my second time cooking venison with the first time being a flop, I was pretty hesitant. However, without having apples I used about a 1/2 of apple juice. And, it turned out extremely well!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Absolutely great! Everyone loved this with just that hint of something extra to make it so tasty! Moist and tender venison with terrific gravy! Thank you, Kristy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This is a keeper- however I have always removed all fat from the venison and found that it doesn't have the GAMEY taste left. I also use apple juice with the roast and stew and just cover the meat with the apple juice...As we have alot of venison each year-it is always nice to get new recipes---Thank-you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Clayton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
One of the best recipes for venison I've tried. Will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This recipe was easy to prepare. I added salt and pepper to the meat and also a bit of thyme. The sauve turned out really well and had good flavor. It was delicious to eat over egg noodles. Unfortunately, I can't say the same for the meat. While it did come out tender and not dry, it was very gamey- to the point that I didn't eat it. I don't think this is a flaw of the recipe, more likely of the meat. (not sure how long it had been in the freezer) I think I'll try this again with a pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was fantastic! It has turned some people who were wary of deer into venison lovers. Great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Amazing! I used venison chops and I added a little corn startch to thicken the gravy. Nothing was left after this meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States