Slow Cooker Apple-Scented Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
the apples really work to take out the gamey flavor of the venison! i cooked the roast for about 10 hours.. we have used it for mulitple dishes - over rice with veggies, as taco meat for street tacos, in egg scramble... love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
it was ok - little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I had never cooked any game meats, and I had also never used my slow cooker... So I was afraid... very afraid!!!! And fortunately, this was lovely. I wish it had been colder outside because this meal deserved a hot fire and a chick flick! I did the first round overnight, and in the morning I added a bunch of veggies, celery, potatoes, carrots, mushrooms... It was great. We ate it with crusty bread for the rest of the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenunn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
We love this rcipe for venison roast. I make it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Great recipe but I must admit I made a few changes. I added 1C of red wine and 2 apples sliced in 8ths plus salt and pepper and 6 cloves of garlic to the crock pot. I stirred the add ins every so often to get all of them in the "juice". When it was done I removed the meat and sliced it but did NOT remove the apple and did not add any bouillon, just 1/2 cup of water. I then took my Smart Stick and put it right in the crock pot and blended everything. It made a wonderful gravy!! Put the meat back in to keep warm until I served it with the garlic mashed potatoes and zucchini. I cooked my potatoes with garlic in chicken broth and after dumping some of the broth whipped them with the rest. No cream, no butter. Really good and a lot less calories! Can't wait to make this again and neither can my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
WOW GREAT GREAT GREAT. HANDED THIS RECIPE OUT TO HUNTERS AFTER THEY TASTED THIS, GREAT JOB update,used this for venison stew... wonderful again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tenafly, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cairo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This recipe was great. The venison was tender and tasty. I did change it a bit. I coated the venison roast in Montreal seasoning and braised it prior to placing it in the crock pot. Then once the roast was done I strained half of the stock and mixed it with flour, to make a gravy, which turned out to be the hit of our meal. The gravy was great on the meat, mashed potatoes, rolls anything my family could "mop up" with that gravy, they did... Thanks so much for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly as written, and thought it was okay. There wasn't much flavor, and it was extremely dry. Def made the house smell good, though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
It was the best deer roast I have ever made. I used a Granny Smith apple and it made the deer sweet but tart. I will use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
use 2 granny smith apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States