Slow Cooker Apple-Scented Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Pretty good recipe. I am going to add a little soy sauce next time to add a little saltiness. The apple flavor was incredible with the venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was an easy recipe and the broth came out good. I had no game taste. This is gonna be one of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
A beautiful way to cook a venison roast. The pan juices make a very delicious gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This was so easy and turned out great. I ended up cooking my roast a little longer about 8 hours on low but I had doubled the apple and added some extra garlic (my family cannot have too much garlic). Everyone loved it even my hardest to please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
the apples really work to take out the gamey flavor of the venison! i cooked the roast for about 10 hours.. we have used it for mulitple dishes - over rice with veggies, as taco meat for street tacos, in egg scramble... love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Prejean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
it was ok - little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I had never cooked any game meats, and I had also never used my slow cooker... So I was afraid... very afraid!!!! And fortunately, this was lovely. I wish it had been colder outside because this meal deserved a hot fire and a chick flick! I did the first round overnight, and in the morning I added a bunch of veggies, celery, potatoes, carrots, mushrooms... It was great. We ate it with crusty bread for the rest of the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenunn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
We love this rcipe for venison roast. I make it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Great recipe but I must admit I made a few changes. I added 1C of red wine and 2 apples sliced in 8ths plus salt and pepper and 6 cloves of garlic to the crock pot. I stirred the add ins every so often to get all of them in the "juice". When it was done I removed the meat and sliced it but did NOT remove the apple and did not add any bouillon, just 1/2 cup of water. I then took my Smart Stick and put it right in the crock pot and blended everything. It made a wonderful gravy!! Put the meat back in to keep warm until I served it with the garlic mashed potatoes and zucchini. I cooked my potatoes with garlic in chicken broth and after dumping some of the broth whipped them with the rest. No cream, no butter. Really good and a lot less calories! Can't wait to make this again and neither can my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
WOW GREAT GREAT GREAT. HANDED THIS RECIPE OUT TO HUNTERS AFTER THEY TASTED THIS, GREAT JOB update,used this for venison stew... wonderful again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Harmuth Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tenafly, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cairo, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States