Slow Cooker Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
The meat was dry and with little flavor.I read the other reviews first and added extra spices and liquid with no success. It was still dry and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I was looking for a way to make a cheap cut of bone in pork chop taste better. This recipe did the trick. I did not use the cabbage or meat tenderizer and I cut back on the sugar a bit. I would recommend a little less cider vinegar as well. The recipe made cheap meat fall right off the bone and taste much better than it had when I just pan fried it in olive oil with salt & pepper. The meat was tender and the apples & onions along with the pork made a nice topper for the noodles that I served it with. I would make this again and add a coating of flour to the chops for a thinker sauce. All in all, my husband and I liked it and this was pretty good for such a cheap cut of meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
All 5 liked it in family. It's a keeper. I added a bit more spices - using fresh ginger, garlic and nutmeg and eliminating tenderizer (whatever that is). I also did not include the cabbage in the pot. I served it with garlic couscous (in chicken broth) with glazed carrots and a side of seared red cabbage (which the kids love and added some color). I also chopped more fresh apple and added on top of meat when served to brighten it up and give it a nice crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janet7th
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I don't usually buy pork chops because I really don't like the usual chewy texture. I also don't make many meat dishes in a slow cooker because I don't like the mushy texture. I wanted to find a way to use pork chops because they are frequently a good buy and voila - success! I wish these were more visually appealing, they really do taste better than they look! I put the cabbage on the bottom of the slow cooker so that the chops weren't in direct contact with the hot crock for real slow cooking. Then I put half of the onions and half of the apples under the chops and half on top. IMPORTANT NOTE: I THINK THAT THE DRYNESS OTHERS HAVE FOUND MAY BE DUE TO THE TIME GIVEN FOR BROWNING THE CHOPS. Five minutes per side will cook the chops through at that medium high heat. That creates a dry, tough pork chop. Heat the oil over high heat, then brown for about two minutes per side. You only need to create a nice brown sear. They chops will finish cooking in the slow cooker. Add the liquid to the pan and stir to deglaze. You don't want to leave that flavor in the pan. Be sure to use fresh, flavorful spices. I might try a little less vinegar next time and maybe a little more brown sugar. But, with less searing time, this is a good recipe to serve an affordable and tasty meal to your family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
For a pork dish , it was very easy and flavorful. I did make two small changes.. no meat tenderizer as it makes a lot of people sick. Also, added a half of head of cabbage and let it all cook till the pork chops were tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
My husband and I made this, thought it was pretty good. Since it was only the two of us we only made 3 pork chops. But, used the same recipe since the other reviews said the chops were dry we thought this would be okay. Turned out well. The pork chops werent too dry and they fell apart with your fork. Very yummy and easy fall dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I have not made this recipe yet but I think the others who have may simply need to adjust the amount of liquid being used - if your crockpot is larger than the traditional 6 quart style or very new and powerful, you have to add more water to make sure the pot is at least half-full for the whole time, or everything will overcook. I will try this and check back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I made this exactly as the recipe read except I didn't use the cabbage. We found it bland and the meat turned out dry. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgann62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
The pork chops were dry and the cabbage/apple/onion slaw did not taste good. I followed the directions as stated. The best part about the meal was the mashed potatoes I served on the side. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States