Slow Cooker Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Very good and easy. I think next time I will add a little oatmeal to the crumb mixture. Otherwise it was great with a side of ice cream. We camp alot and I like to bring things to make in the crockpot, this was nice because it is done in 2 hours without heating up the house/camper. Thanks SDROSIE. I will make this again. Good flavors. UPDATE: Just as good the next day cold. Loved this and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bayfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
SUPER easy and SUPER yummy! I added 1 cup of oats to the crumb mixture before mixing it all together. Serve with vanilla ice cream and be prepared to make serious YUMMY NOISES!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.Mace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
OMG! This is awesome. so simple. my kids left nothing for hubby so i hadda make more. BUT... I baked it in the oven in a 9x13 glass pan sprayed with pam uncovered for 40 minutes. substituted raisens for the walnuts. Used Fuji apples. This was a nice project for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wading River, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Delicious! I addeda large handful of oatmeal to the crisp topping, as suggested by other reviewers. I cooked it on low for 3 hours, then turned the lid crooked so each end of the oval cooker was exposed and cooked one hour, the topping was quite crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
What a simple recipe! I never thought of using my crockpot to make a dessert. To this recipe I added a pint of my canned pears (drained). I substituted the nutmeg for pumpkin pie spice but only because I am not a huge fan of nutmeg. I did add some extra dashes of cinnamon because we like a strong cinnamon taste in desserts. I did remove the lid for an additional 1/2 hr for the crumb topping to firm up but it really didn't harden at all. All in all, the apple crisp was simply delicious!! I definitely will be making this again. I've already promised the kids that I will make it for our big Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
we loved it. Used all Granny Smith apples and added 1 pack instant Oatmeal (Cinnamon and Apple) and cooked it for 4 hours on low, took off the lid and cooked another hour on high. Came out crunchy, but not too crunchy. Will make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miezimau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I used 12 granny smith apples and sliced them fairly thin and left them in the fridge over night in the slow cooker vessel covered in sugar. Pulled it out the next morning and in 2.5 hours... yummy. I tried a couple of different slow cookers and I think I have it dialed in now. If your willing to trial and error the texture a little its worth the fuss if you have some different slow cookers. My first batch was mushy BUT TASTEY! Second better and on the third try with a different slow cooker it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I ran out of oven space and found this to be the perfect dessert for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baxter, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Wow, loved this. Served it to 7 ladies for a book club and they gobbled it up. Ice Cream is the best match for this! I used 12 Granny Smith apples. Cooked for 1 hour on high, 2 hours on low. Covered top of crisp with oats, maybe 1/4 inch deep, then turned the lid on my crockpot and cooked for 1.5 hours. The top was perfectly crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
omg this recipe rocks! added oatmeal, as suggested by others, but otherwise followed as written. will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooknbabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States