Slow Cooker Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Very good and easy. I think next time I will add a little oatmeal to the crumb mixture. Otherwise it was great with a side of ice cream. We camp alot and I like to bring things to make in the crockpot, this was nice because it is done in 2 hours without heating up the house/camper. Thanks SDROSIE. I will make this again. Good flavors. UPDATE: Just as good the next day cold. Loved this and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bayfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
SUPER easy and SUPER yummy! I added 1 cup of oats to the crumb mixture before mixing it all together. Serve with vanilla ice cream and be prepared to make serious YUMMY NOISES!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.Mace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I wasn't a big fan of this recipe but my kids liked it. I like my apple crisp with a little bit crispier top than this one makes. It seems a little soft. I did use three different kinds of apples since they were not specified in the recipe. I used 3 Granny Smith, 3 Fuji, and 1 Red Delicious (because I was short an apple and that is what I had on hand). I also added an extra Tbs of cornstarch because I knew the Red apple would go to mush. The Granny Smith apples did not soften up, they stayed crunchy after 3 hours on high, I think my cuts were to big on the Granny Smith apples. The fuji were cooked perfectly though. For the topping I added a cup of oats in to the mix. I will probably throw the leftovers in the oven to crisp up the topping. Served with vanilla ice cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Taste was excellent. Made to the recipe, once you get the components of the recipe together, this is very easy. Only cooked on high for 1 1/2 hours, then the hour for the top to harden. The cooking time for my apples from our backyard tree was still too long, they were more than done. The top never did 'harden' up, I don't see how it could get crispy in the crockpot. Oatmeal added to the top mixture would probably help. Still, it had a yummy flavor and this would be good done in the oven at far less time than the crockpot. The crockpot method has its place under certain circumstances I would think, but I will not make again this way, I will do in the oven, with this recipe. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I used 3 Granny Smith apples, 3 Gala, and 3 Jonagold. My sliced apples filled a 3 quart bowl, which worked perfectly in my 4 quart slow cooker and cooked to just over 1/2 that amount but my apples were quite large to start with. One variety turned to mush and I am sure it wasn't the Granny Smith. Some held their shape well and were actually cooked perfectly. The flavor was very good and had just the right amount of sweetness. However, it never hardened on top. For this reason alone, I don't think I will be making it in the slow cooker again - I will stick to using my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
What a simple recipe! I never thought of using my crockpot to make a dessert. To this recipe I added a pint of my canned pears (drained). I substituted the nutmeg for pumpkin pie spice but only because I am not a huge fan of nutmeg. I did add some extra dashes of cinnamon because we like a strong cinnamon taste in desserts. I did remove the lid for an additional 1/2 hr for the crumb topping to firm up but it really didn't harden at all. All in all, the apple crisp was simply delicious!! I definitely will be making this again. I've already promised the kids that I will make it for our big Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I thought that this was good and it tasted like apple pie. But I do prefer a crunchier top made with oats. It was very easy to make and tasted great with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
The topping wasn't very crispy and it never hardened, but it was still really tasty. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
OMG! This is awesome. so simple. my kids left nothing for hubby so i hadda make more. BUT... I baked it in the oven in a 9x13 glass pan sprayed with pam uncovered for 40 minutes. substituted raisens for the walnuts. Used Fuji apples. This was a nice project for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wading River, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This came out very good. The taste was great. I was a little disappointed in the topping. I would have liked it to be crispier. My kids enjoyed it and said it tasted like an apple pie without the crust. I will try this again but in the oven next time. I used paula red apples and they cooked down quite a bit. I think depending on the type of apples you use, you should adjust your cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States