Slow Cooker Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Wouldn't have believed you could make apple crisp in a crock pot, but this recipe proves it to be true. My hints/tips: I sliced a 3 lb. of Ida Red apples, put in a large ziploc bag along with 1/2 cup br. sugar, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg and 1 tblsp. cornstarch. Close bag and shake to coat apples well. I took contents of the bag and put in an even layer in crock pot. I made my own topping using 1 1/4 cup rolled oats(not instant), 3/4 cup br. sugar, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon & 1/4 tsp nutmeg. Cut in 1/2 cup of room temp. butter and knead with fingers until crumbly. Spread evenly over apples and baked according to instructions. Leaving the lid off really does make the "crisp" yummy! Served it with french vanilla ice cream. Happy for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This is a definte keeper for our family! I doubled the nutmeg and cinammon which was perfect for us! I cooked on high for two hours and then turned lid sideways for another hour on high. The topping crisped nicely and it tasted GREAT! I used a crock pot liner which made cleanup a snap. Thanks for sharing this recipe, SDROSIE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Photo by WaterlessCooker
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Taste is wonderful, but I think there was too much topping with this one...I prefer a lighter covering of the streusel topping and this was just too thick for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vandergrift, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Wow! This was incredible apple crisp. I did make a few changes. I added 3 more apples, along with a teaspoon of vanilla extract. I also added 1 cup of rolled oats to topping. Cooked on low for 4 hours, removed lid last half hour. Will definitely take to a outing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
The apple mixture is delicious, however I didn't have any luck with the crumble on top. Would highly recommend for the apple portion, try a different crumble and it would be outstanding! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I am smelling this cooking as we prepare for our holiday potluck. So easy to make and from my taste testing, a bit on the sweet side but if we add ice cream it will balance the sweetness. What a wonderful addition to my Crockpot list of things to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I can't make the topping crispy even though I added oatmeal. I will try again with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I made this in the oven because I didn't want to wait on the slow cooker this time but I like that it is an option. I added a cup of oats to the topping like others. My husband liked this but I thought it was too sweet. The proportion of topping to apples was off. Next time I will make less topping and cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph Loch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I used Granny Smith apples and it turned out very mushy. The flavor was good, but I prefer a firmer apple in my crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I used "baking" apples and followed the length of time suggested and I ended up with much. I omitted the nuts as we have a nut allergy in the house. I would make this again, but cut down on the cook time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States