Slow Cooker Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Pretty good. I like the flavor, but I like a crispier crust. I let it cook uncovered for awhile (even started to smell like the apples were burning a little), but the center of the crust was still pretty mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
It was a little sugary for me and I even omitted the white sugar in the topping. I used Earth Balance instead of butter and whole wheat flour in place of the white flour, both substitutions worked really nicely. Next time I'll cut the sugar even more. It was delish, though!! We had fresh granny smith apples from visiting an orchard last weekend, so this was a great way too use them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
My kids loved it. But I think that's just because they haven't had an apple crisp before! I used the cornstarch, yet it turned out pretty watery. Looking back at the picture now, maybe it was meant to be that way (?). I loved the making a dessert in the crock pot, but we won't make this one again. Watery, and not "crisp". Not a disaster by any means, but there are so many other better apple crisp recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
My husband loved this! I did triple it. Did one crock pot for home and the double batch for a Halloween Pot Luck. Everyone really liked at work too! I did Sub 1 cup oats instead of the walnuts, and that is way too much. Cause it swelled up and made to much crust. then i made the apples too thinly sliced, and it totally turned in to apple sauce. I think next time I'll stick to the walnuts and BIG apple slices. Other than what i did wrong it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Photo by lisag81
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This recipe was great - but next time I think I'll add a handful of old fashioned oats. That was missing for me. But I love the idea of throwing it all in the crockpot, running out to get errands done and coming home to an awesome smelling house! Delicious with a scoop of french vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisag81

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This has been enjoyed by all during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I didn't have walnuts or ginger, but it was still okay. I added a cup of oatmeal to the topping. I'll probably try it with different fruits and less topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Made this this wekend on our annual Halloween camping trip. I was delicious! I prepped everything before we left on Friday, and threw it in the crockpot after dinner on Saturday, a couple hours later, after the kids were done trick-or-treating, we all sat down to a hot delicious dessert. The only changes I made were the same ones most reviewers have been suggesting, I added oatmeal to the topping, and traded out the ginger for nutmeg. Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Hudson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This was a good dessert, but the crumbs were a little "chewy" for my liking. My company enjoyed it though- so it's definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
We had a bunch of ripe apples we needed to use and our oven was out, so I used this recipe. It was truly DELICIOUS; and even better than the oven version in my opinion. I didn't measure the apples exactly but used eight medium size apples and proportions worked just great. I also accidentally cooked it for an hour on low with the top off because I didn't read the instructions properly and the result was a nice, thick and crunchy top. I made this again today for a company party and everyone else's dishes needed to microwaved while mine was aromatic, piping hot and delicious. A HUGE HIT ALL AROUND!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States