Slow Cooker Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Best cooked apple dessert I've ever had!! And I don't really care for apple pie or cobblers. I used Honeycrisp apples, weighing in at about a pound each! So I only had to use 3 of my 40#bbox supply. I also used raw sugar, rather than the white. But I did use the recipe amounts. I used 2 packets brown sugar instant oatmeal + 2 packets of plain for topping, omitting nuts. Cook time was a little less because of the apple type, I suspect. Soooo good! Nice warm treat for Thanksgiving late night. Wish I'd hhad the ice cream maker ready, but I will get some tomorrow for the left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I liked that I could fix & forget but I was disappointed with the topping. Next time I will bake in the oven to achieve the "crisp" that I missed with the slow cooker. Thank you for a simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly with an addition of about 1/2 c. oatmeal added to the topping. FANTASTIC!! Left it in slow cooker and removed top at end for an hour while still on low. Absolutely wonderful!! House smelled amazing and I didn't have to make w rush of dinner. Did it hours before and then was ready after dinner. Didn't have ice cream so just put some cool whip on it and it was great. Hubby laughed bc I kept making yummy noises while eating. Kept it on low for several more hours and was nowhere as good as when the recipe said was ready. So don't leave it cooking much longer than recipe calls for. It's absolutely delicious. What a great slow cooker dessert recipe. Warm and gooey and topping not very hard but was so good didn't matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Everyone loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Tried this today with some apples that my husband brought home from someone he works with and wasn't sure what kind they were but they were on the crisp side so they were perfect for this recipe. i following the recipe except I did add oatmeal to the topping. It was great to know that after dinner warm apple crisp ready to eat! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I used Granny Smith, it worked great. The spice mix was perfect. A bit too much crust for the apples, though; next time I'll use 8-9 cups apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I love this recipe, My co workers loved it so much they requested I make it a second day in a row. I did use a cup of oatmeal in the topping, didn't use the ginger or nutmeg because I didn't have it and it was still wonderful. Funny but when I put the topping on top of the apples I thought it was too much dry ingredients to get moist. It wasn't.... Lol. It turned out perfect. We removed the top the last hour and it made our office smell so good! Perfect, easy, make it and forget it dish. Perfect for an office carry in for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoosierMama
Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I doubled this recipe. Put it in the crock pot without the topping. Then put the apples in a 9.5x11 pan and covered with topping; then cooked at 425 for 15 minutes. Everyone loved it and there was none left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Good. don't overcook or you'll have apple sauce. Be sure to remove the lid so the topping gets crunchy. I would make again. I substituted some of the flour for oatmeal in the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This was great! It was easy and the kids loved it. I have a very big family, this was a great way to have an easy treat for them without a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States