Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This recipe was delicious! The local super market only had 2.5lbs pork shoulder roasts so I made two of them at once. While the end result was a little too tender after cooking for 6 and half hours on a low setting it had the texture of pulled pork. Although it was still very good, I am confident that the next time I make this it will be perfect if cooked between 5 and 5.5 hours. Also reducing the broth to gravy was a little difficult and ended up using cornstarch and seasoned with a little garlic powder, salt and pepper. Thanks for the recipe Chef John, all of your recipes I've tried are always well recieved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I'm not a huge fan of pork roast because mine always comes out dry and touch, but I just made this and it was awesome! It was very moist, tender and flavor was so delicious! I left out the mustard only because I didn't have any. Also, I don't know if the sauce was supposed to thicken as it cooked. Mine didn't and I cooked over low-medium heat for about 45 min. It still has a great flavor and I will definitely make this again. I also made a side of cooked cinnamon apples to go with it. I loved it! Great dish for cooler fall weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
As presented in the October/November 2014 issue All recipes magazine the sodium content per 1/4 lb serving is 761 mg. In this article on your web site the sodium content per 1/2 lb serving is 175 mg. Which, if either, is correct?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I love Chef John-- the only cook I follow. Made the recipe exactly as is, but added cooked bacon to the top of the roast, and a bit to the liquid, which included baby Yukon Gold potatoes soaking up the love. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
EXCELLENT!! I was so proud of how well this turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Amazingly delicious. Everyone loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Just made this today! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I just made today. I altered the recipe a little... I left out the garlic, and completely skipped #4 on. I also added 2 chopped granny smith apples. When the pork was done, I removed it from the crockpot and poured all the juice into a large saucepan, reduced it, and added a roux, salt & pepper. The roast was so tender, it ended up being pulled pork in the delicious apple gravy. Served with mashed potatoes. YUMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This was really tender and juicy and the flavour was delicious. Family loved it. I served it over seasoned rice. It was easy to make and we have enough gravy/sauce to float the navy. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was quite good. Used a 2 lb pork loin since they were on sale and I like leaner meat so I cut the time down to 4 hrs. Kept the rest of the ingredients the same since I like gravy. The liquid at the end did take quite a while to reduce and I wound up adding some cornstarch to thicken it up since it was still quite liquidy. It was sweet but not overpowering and not vinegary like lots of pork recipies in the slow-cooker. I didn't strain out celery and onion from the gravy and I thought it was nice to have the little chunks. Overall it was very easy. Maybe next time I'll add in some apple wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States