Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Yet Another "Chef John" Favorite! We tried this recipe for our Sunday Dinner last night and it was a Huge Hit! The meat was fall apart tender and absolutely Delicious! We followed the recipe exactly as stated. On a side note, this could also work for an easy weeknight meal, using some super thick chops and less cider. This recipe has earned a spot in the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I made this dish with roasted potatoes last night and it was soo delicious! We could not stop eating it! I followed the recipe to the letter and would not change a thing. I will make this again and again. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
The blend of flavors was excellent, with just a hint of sweet! It's easy to prepare smell awesone good while cooking..simple comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea-didi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Very flavorful and tender. Perfect ingredients for pork! I used a bone-in shoulder, about 4 ¼ pounds along with high quality organic apple juice. My roast was done in about 6 ½ hours on low. For the sauce, I added an extra tbsp of Dijon and decided to thicken a bit more with 3 tbsp water / 3 tbsp cornstarch. Served with red cabbage and roasted garlic cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Photo by Becky1234
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I was so glad to see one of the Reviewers commented that this could also be made with Thick Cut Pork Chops, because I had 4 of them that I used for this Recipe! They totaled 3 pounds of Pork Chops so I figured I'd make the recipe otherwise exactly as written (oops I just now realized I forgot to add the herbs and cayenne) and it was GREAT! See my Pic... I served with Mashed Sweet Potatoes and Kale with Pine Nuts. It was a beautiful presentation and everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
We overdid the pork a bit as we didn't buy the full 4 lbs -- it was fully our fault for not adjusting the cook time. But EVEN with that we were gobsmacked at how delicious this was. My husband and I were licking our plates. This won't simply be tossed into the recipe rotation; it's getting a place of honor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Very good and could not be easier! I'm not a fan of pork shoulder, so I used a center cut pork roast instead and just reduced the cooking time to make sure it wasn't too dry. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was very good. Nice flavor and VERY tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Awesome! We couldn't find apple cider, so we opted for apple juice; and it was fantastic! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I have not tries this recipe but I gave it a 5 star anyways. I made a recipe something like this so I know it's good. I take thick cut boneless pork chops and put them in crock pot. I season with salt, pepper, onion powder, and garlic powder. (A staple on all my meats) I cover that with sliced onions and minced garlic. Then pour apple juice or cider over it. When done after about 6 hours on low. I drain liquid and make thickening of flour and cold juice or cider in a jar to make gravy. I season more with salt, pepper, onion powder and garlic powder. I have to make a lot of mashed potatoes cause my family can't get enough of this gravy. It's delicious and a family favorite at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States