Slow Cooker Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Went by the recipe & used tart apples.I did add the sugar in the last couple of hours of cooking which was done by taste.I think I used about half of what the recipe called for.Turned out GREAT husband & family loved it as well as my co workers.This one will be in my recipe box for years to come!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laidback
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I thought the butter turned out really good. BUT! I only used 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and NO white sugar at all. I also used a natuarlly sweet apple- Matsu. I also left the lid off the slow cooker the last 2 1/2 hours of cooking, so it would thicken more. I just finished making it yesterday, it usually gets better when it sits for a week or 2(I canned it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laidback

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
First time I've made this recipe and it turned out perfect. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants great apple butter. It makes a lot. I ended up with 2 16oz jars, 2 12oz jars and 6 8oz jars. The only thing I changed was the type of apples I used...I used Gala apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This recipe is absolutely excellent. The tart apples are a must!! It was easy and delicisious at the end. Defintley a must do!! Thanks Melissa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pegsrecipes
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I use 2 types of apples..and just white sugar. Cook time-start on high, get it bubbling, then turn to low, cooking over nite( with sugar), with lid cracked for vapor to escape. Done by moring. Process in hot water bath 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pegsrecipes
Home Town: Monson, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I decided to make this as my first ever slow cooker recipe and cut the recipe down quite a bit. I only had 3 pounds of apples, so I reduced the remaining ingredients down so I was only making 1/4 of the original recipe. What happened - my apple butter burnt in the slow cooker during the second cooking cycle (10 hours on low). Any thoughts on why? Not enough liquid, not enough ingredients for the large cooker, etc.? Wondering if anyone else had the same type of experience thier first time out so I can figure out what I did wrong. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was my first time ever making apple butter. It could not have been easier. I used Arkansas Black apples (about 15 large) until my crock-pot was full and really couldn't hold anymore. I also ended up mashing the apples after the first 8 hours and then I smushed everything through a wire strainer/sifter after it had cooked for about 22 hours. I wanted a smoother texture. I did end up cooking mine for about 25 hours just because I was trying to cook some of the liquid off to make it thicker (removed the lid the last 3 hours). I ended up with an apple butter that was great tasting and a really deep rich brown color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Used granny smith apples I used half the sugar called for and it was still very sweet. Spices were great though. I'll try again with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TYREETHOMAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jennings, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Southlake, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I got about 3-4 cups of actual apple butter wow it cooked down! I just left it on low for 20-22 hours then it was all done! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was great. Made the house smell so good while it was cooking. I like mine alittle thicker, but the taste was great. Made it on Sunday and here it is Wednesday almost gone. Next time will make the whole batch, I only made half. silly me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States