Slow Cooker Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I cut back on the sugar to 1 c. brown and 1 c. white. I also cooked it on high for just an hour and then turned to low for the remaining time. Awesome! I would have given it 5 stars had I not modified the sugar content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
My crock-pot only held 6 1/2 lbs of apples. I cooked them with 1/4 C of Apple cider Vinegar until very soft, and then since I didn't peel the apples, I ran them through my food mill. Returned to the crock-pot with 1 C white sugar, 1 t. cinnamon, 1/4 t. pumpkin spice (since I didn't have ground cloves) and 1/2 t. allspice. It tastes great, but I'm letting the flavors blend into the butter and will check it again in a while to make sure I don't need to adjust the spices or sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCBMC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibbz
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This is a very tasty, easy recipe. Texture was right on and taste is wonderful. I ended up cooking a little longer to get the consistency and color we wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
The consistency of this was lovely. It was very sweet...I will try playing with the amount of sugar for the next batch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I do not like Apple Butter but I loved this. I had our Aunt taste it because she has a "family recipe" and won't try anything else. It will be interesting to see how long it takes her to ask me for this recipe. My crockpot runs a little hot so I kept it on warm through the night and then turned it back up in the morning. It was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Wonderful recipe! Had to modify cook time, though. After cooking on high for 8 hours, I added the sugar and spices and then continued cooking for 2 hours on low. Also, had to use a blender to smooth it out. Tastes great, though, and I ended up with about 3 1/2 mason jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pegsrecipes
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I use 2 types of apples..and just white sugar. Cook time-start on high, get it bubbling, then turn to low, cooking over nite( with sugar), with lid cracked for vapor to escape. Done by moring. Process in hot water bath 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pegsrecipes
Home Town: Monson, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Very good! I did not have allspice, so added a little nutmeg instead. I did add a little more sugar, but my apples were green and more sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasksi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
LOVE this recipe! I had to use two crock pots for the first eight hours until some of the apples cooked down as they would not all fit into one. The end result was fantastic. The golden delicious apples were great, the only thing I changed was I used 1/8 tsp of ground cloves instead of 1/4. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LNaccarato

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Excellent! I added chopped crystalized ginger to mine and it turned out really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States