Slow Cooker Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I loved this recipe! I left the cloves and allspice out tho. I also altered the cooking time a lil, and it turned out perfect! I cook it on high for 10hrs (with all the sugar, cinn, and apple cider vinegar on top of the apples, not mixed in). Then I stir it, turn it to low, and cook another 2hrs. Finally I cook it uncovered, still on low, for another 2hrs. Then I puree it, and can it! It's absolutely excellent! Everyone loves it and keeps asking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This was great! I did as was mentioned in previous comments and only added half the amount of sugar and it was perfect. I cooked it on low for 21 hours. Made the house smell great and we had the butter on bagels in the morning after a walk in the cold outside! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Wonderful! First attempt at making apple butter and was very pleased. I am considering making a second batch very soon. We have been using it on muffins, bagels, toast, you name it. I did reduce the sugar and used 1 c. white sugar and about 3/4 c. brown sugar. Also, about half golden delicious and the rest were a little more tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christylynn
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Very good base recipe, with some tweaks. Went by directions first time, then tweaked by using only 1 cup to 1-1/2 cups of white sugar. Did use 1 cup brown. It was much better with the lower sugar amount, allowing more of the spice flavor to come out, rather than so much sweet. Please be careful with cook times, check occasionally and stir at least once in first cooking time. Mine was ready after 10 hrs total cook time, rather than the full time stated in the recipe. Guess my crock pot is a little hotter than normal, but never noticed it before. I canned 5 half pints. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
It was excellent and easy. I left the lid off the slow cooker as suggested by others, the last two hours. It cooks way down. So, if you are thinking of cutting the recipe in half, I would suggest that you not because the apples cook way down. Best apple butter ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Amazing! Followed except... decreased the sugar- did about a cup and a half of brown and a cup and a half of white. Also at the end before I canned it I put the entire crock pot of apple butter into the blender and got the ***PERFECT*** consistency- I was planning on returning it to the crock pot but no need to it poured easily into my jars. :) Oh, I also kept the top open during the last few hours to thicken up and I will follow this every time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I cut back on the sugar to 1 c. brown and 1 c. white. I also cooked it on high for just an hour and then turned to low for the remaining time. Awesome! I would have given it 5 stars had I not modified the sugar content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
My crock-pot only held 6 1/2 lbs of apples. I cooked them with 1/4 C of Apple cider Vinegar until very soft, and then since I didn't peel the apples, I ran them through my food mill. Returned to the crock-pot with 1 C white sugar, 1 t. cinnamon, 1/4 t. pumpkin spice (since I didn't have ground cloves) and 1/2 t. allspice. It tastes great, but I'm letting the flavors blend into the butter and will check it again in a while to make sure I don't need to adjust the spices or sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCBMC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibbz
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This is a very tasty, easy recipe. Texture was right on and taste is wonderful. I ended up cooking a little longer to get the consistency and color we wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
The consistency of this was lovely. It was very sweet...I will try playing with the amount of sugar for the next batch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States