Slow Cooker Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Like many of the others here, I liked the recipe, but with changes. I used an equal mix of 4 tart apple varieties—Pink Lady, Stayman Winesap, Granny Smith, and Arkansas Black. I cut the sugar way down--1 cup each of white and brown. However, I kept the spices exactly the same. Their flavor is strong but I liked it. You may wish to cut down. Not sure if your ratios will work the same, but for me, 1 pound of whole apples equaled one cup of finished product. I used 10 pounds of apples and my yield was 10 cups of apple butter. Also like the others, I did not need to cook it quite as long as the recipe states. For me, it was 6 hours on high, 9 hours on low, then added the sugar and spices and kept on low for 2 hours more with the lid off to make thicker. I used an immersion blender after the first 6 hours to make it smooth. I then canned the butter using a 10 minute hot water bath. It looks great and tastes awesome and I plan to give out as Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
used honey instead of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This was the best apple butter I have ever made. Used a combination of various apples. This will be my go-to recipe in the future. I was going to give some away as Christmas gifts, but......ummmm.......we ate it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This turned out great! Seems to be a very basic recipe that can be adjusted to your liking. I bought 12 pounds of granny smith by mistake. I used them anyway and I only added 2 cups sugar and 1 cup stevia. Plenty sweet for me. The next batch I made was with gala apples. Only had to use 1 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup stevia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This is an easy way to make apple butter. I used a variety of apples and cut the sugar in half. I also added ginger. My two little boys loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I followed the ingredients perfectly...but not the directions! I put everything in the crockpot at once and cooked it all night. In the morning I took off the lid and let it thicken for a few hours on high. I ladled it into jars and processed it for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Fantastic! I used Red Delicious because they were on sale. I realized I must have left a bag at the store because my apple cider vinegar and allspice were NOWHERE to be found! So I used regular vinegar, added a splash of vanilla, and hoped! I didn't use the allspice because it tasted awesome the way it was. My kids don't like apple butter or cornbread but they wolfed the combo down this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
tried 3 different recipes this is ok try all day apple butter is the best (no cider vinegar/brown sugar)and less crock pot time for cooking-- use hand blender to get butter consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Very good. You need to watch this closely. Depends on your apples for cook time. Mine was done in 8 hrs total cook time. Cut white sugar by 1 cup and it's plenty sweet. Recommend recipe just watch it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is very easy, very good. I did cut back the sugar, omitting the white sugar and using 3/4 cup brown sugar. I used a mix of apples from our back yard, some tart, some sweet. We found the cinnamon (I use Watkins brand) a little strong, but that is easily adjusted and could have been prevented by adding to taste instead of per recipe. A 3 1/2-quart slow cooker of apple slices cooked down to a little over 4 cups of apple butter in 22 hours total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States