Slow Cooker Apple Butter with Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I had 2 big grocery bag full of green, tart apples from my father-in-law's tree. Not having a food scale, I used 1 of the bags. After peeling and coring the apples, I put the apples in my Vitamix and did a course chop so the apples would fit in my 6 quart crock pot. I had about 2 inches left to spare in the pot. I used about 3 teaspoons of apple pie seasoning since it had cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice. Used the same amount of sugars and honey. My son and I could of eaten all of it before it was cooked. Followed the cooking instructions and let it cooked overnight. Boy, did the house smell wonderful! Used a stick blender to make it a smooth texture. I took the lid off after 10 hours and it thickened just a little bit. It was more like an applesauce consistency and is really sweet. May lessen the sugar next time. I ended up filling 11, 1/2 pint size jars. Plan to give them out as gifts. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I wasn't sure about adding honey to apple butter, but I did it and it was great. I didn't use exact ingredients and I also threw in a couple Olympic pears. When I told my mom I was making apple butter she said, "Just buy it! It's not worth the hassle!" Hassle? I put some ingredients in a slow cooker and left it to cook itself. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Only addition I did was use barenjäger honey liqueur. Adds a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I made this recipe and everyone has loved it! I chose it because of the honey as we have bees and I wanted to try some of our honey in different recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Just the recipe I was looking for!! Used three different type of apples but changed nothing else. I did puree it in a blender at the end of cooking to give it a smoother consistency. My husband is already asking when I am going to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This is THE BEST apple butter! The honey really makes it and I feel more nutritious than all sugar. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Used a variety of apples - wonderfuln
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Super easy! Once it cools it will thicken right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Perfect apple butter, and so easy! This was our first attempt at making apple butter and the results are fantastic. We sliced, peeled and cored the 5 1/2 lbs. of Golden Delicious apples (which completely filled my 6-quart crock pot)and then mixed the honey, sugars and spices exactly as listed in the recipe and put them on top. Cooked on high 1 hour as directed, then cooked on low for 10 hours. When it was done, I used a wire whisk for a couple of minutes to achieve a smooth consistency. It tastes amazing and was a hit with everyone in our family, adults and kids alike! Notes: We live at almost 6,000 ft. elevation, so it may take less time at lower elevations. Also, I took the lid off the crock pot as it cooled to prevent condensation from watering down the apple butter. We will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Wonderful! The honey isn't overpowering but adds a lovely note to the flavor. I used Fuji apples because they were the least expensive at Costco and raw organic wildflower honey. I also pureed them at the end instead of trying to mash them with a fork. Texture was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States