Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
It was yummy although not sure how authentic this recipe for adobo is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Very good, but made the mistake of using "chicken for baking and frying" which happened to be on sale and contained many tiny bones. Avoid tiny bones at all costs. I didn't find it to be overly pungent. The only change I made was to add a few peppercorns per other user recommendations, didn't have any bay leaves to add at the time, but that sounds like a great idea too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shlemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I'VE BEEN COOKING ADOBO FOR YEARS!! I USE CHICKEN, WHITE VINEGAR, PICKLING SPICE, GARLIC, GINGER, PAPRIKA, BAYLEAVES, CHICKEN BROTH, I TIE THE PICKLING SPICE IN CHEESECLOTH & COOK IN CROCKPOT.. SERVED OVER STEAMED JASMINE RICE!! MY ADOBO IS GREAT!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Used powdered garlic instead of fresh and balsamic vinegar and still the family ate it up. very simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Dish was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I took advice from other reviewers and now know where I would change it next time. Definitely need 2 bay leaves, don't need sugar but if you do make it no more than 1 Tablespoon. I used 1/2 cup soy and 1/2 cup white vinegar and didn't feel it had any strong vinegar taste. Here's the big thing though...I cooked mine on low for 5 hours and it was falling apart and the breasts were dried out. That ruined it for me. I'd rather have juicy, moist chicken and I think that's really how this should have been. Anyway, it opens the door on Adobo for me and I'm willing to try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
We didn't care for this recipe at all. I added some ginger as suggested by another reviewer and a couple Thai chili peppers for a extra little heat but it was still very blah. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This is definitely a great starting point for adobo but has to be tweaked a little to make it taste much more flavorful. I lowered my soy sauce to 1/2 cup and used 1/3 cup of rice vinegar and added whole black peppercorn, more garlic, bay leaves, minced ginger, and a tea spoon of brown sugar. It tasted more refined when I tweaked it and definitely don't use JUST skinless chicken breasts like I did. The fat from the chicken adds more depth to the flavor and juiciness otherwise the chicken just comes up fairly dry. I'm trying Pork Adobo next time as I love pork adobo more than chicken :P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I never cooked chicken adobe in a slow cooker before. I added whole dried bay leaves & onions - like I use when preparing on the stove. With back to school and football - I have less time in the evening to prepare meals. I am so glad that I could provide one of my family favorites using my slow cooker. The chicken over fresh steamed rice with steamed spinach is a perfect meal. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Very easy recipe and the house smells AMAZING. But there isn't a lot of flavor and the white meat on the chicken still came up very dry even though it looks moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States