Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Pretty good recipe for being in a slow cooker which I have never done. My mother traditionally taught me to use the good ole' stove top for this Filipino favorite. I too like to use white vinegar vs. cider vinegar and I omit the sugar since it's meant to be a "tangy" dish so to speak. One thing this recipe is missing is the bay leaves which I think is key for an authentic Filipino adobo recipe, otherwise, it's pretty good. I'll definitely try it again. -Caligirl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I'm not a huge slow cooker fan, but this recipe was very good! Added a few other spices to fit my taste. Will definitely be trying this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Swingle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I've prepared this several times and it always turns out well. My family members like it. I use low sodium soy sauce instead of regular soy sauce, but everything else the same. I'll also add a bay leaf next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I used frozen chicken breasts, and they were perfectly cooked - falling apart - after 6 hours. I found the soy flavor a little overwhelming, but overall this was delicious! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Amazing recipe, my husband said this is the best chicken ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
It was yummy although not sure how authentic this recipe for adobo is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Very good, but made the mistake of using "chicken for baking and frying" which happened to be on sale and contained many tiny bones. Avoid tiny bones at all costs. I didn't find it to be overly pungent. The only change I made was to add a few peppercorns per other user recommendations, didn't have any bay leaves to add at the time, but that sounds like a great idea too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shlemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I'VE BEEN COOKING ADOBO FOR YEARS!! I USE CHICKEN, WHITE VINEGAR, PICKLING SPICE, GARLIC, GINGER, PAPRIKA, BAYLEAVES, CHICKEN BROTH, I TIE THE PICKLING SPICE IN CHEESECLOTH & COOK IN CROCKPOT.. SERVED OVER STEAMED JASMINE RICE!! MY ADOBO IS GREAT!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Used powdered garlic instead of fresh and balsamic vinegar and still the family ate it up. very simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Dish was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 541) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States