Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
way too salty, even with low sodium soy sauce. I added a bit of brown sugar, which helped slightly. Not at all what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
What I do, is add bamboo shoots drained, sliced water chestnuts drained, sliced mushrooms, black pepper, and about 1/2 cup water to cut down on saltiness of soy sauce. I used apple cider vinegar, but will be trying the white vinegar, next time. My family loves chicken adobo served with steamed white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
4 stars made as is...delicious. The second time I made it I changed it to my taste which was simply to use all dark meat (skinless), used about 3/4 cup vinegar, and 1/2 cup dry white wine. I then added 2 TB cornstarch mixed with 3 TB cold water to thicken the sauce just a little. I think the other variations suggested make for good dishes but get away from the basic essence of adobo chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I enjoyed this dish, but I had to make alterations. I only added 1/3 cup soy sauce, and the rest water. Came out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
The flavor was just not very appealing to me. I like tangy, but it tasted pickled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I've made this many times. So wonderful! Very comparable to the Chicken Adobo my friend's family made when we were growing up (they are Filipino). Absolutely delicious. I use white vinegar to cut down on the stink factor while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This was excellent and super easy. I will make this on a regular basis rather than over the stove. Less mess and no thinking once you turn on the crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Grech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
very bland chicken--the gravy was good on rice, that is the reason for the 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Our whole family LOOOOOVED this recipe! I made it just like it is written. I only added a smidge of cornstarch (mixed with cold water) at the end to make the sauce a little thicker. We served this over rice and WOW is it good!! We will most definitely make this again!! Simple, easy and DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Dry and salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States