Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I followed the recipe but my chicken came out bland and chewy. I used the leftover juice to make the rice and that was flavorful but didn't quite make up for the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Eden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I've had the authentic version and this compares.I used Datu puti cane vinegar from the Philippines for that real taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
have a backup plan in case you dont like the flavor of this. i thought it was too strong of a flavor as far as the vinegar and soy sauce. my husband liked it. i ate it, but i'm not sure ill make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This recipe didn't work out at all for me. I have made adobo chicken on the stove top many times with much success. This recipe, however, left me with metallic tasting chicken. The sauce was tasty but I will never make this in a slow cooker again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Super easy to make. I used white wine vinegar and didn't think it was particularly smelly during the cooking process. As recommended by several reviewers, I added bay leaves and peppercorns to the sauce, along with about a tablespoon of brown sugar. Very different flavor combinations from the chicken we usually eat, tasty and satisfying. Served with fresh sliced tomotoes and red beans and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Essentially it is stewed chicken drenched in soy sauce. I make adobo, it is meant to be tangy with hints of vinegar, garlic. Some dishes simply need to be cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Actually 4.5 stars. Someone recommended this to me in a Recipe Buzz exchange and I decided to try it. The vote from my wife afterwards? ... "You can do this again. We can even serve this at one of our guest evenings". That was high praise indeed. I (of course) then did it a second time. It was still good. The third time I tweaked! I added some fresh ginger. And that was a nice little addition so I will be doing that in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swiss Phil

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bern, Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Oh my, this was delicious! I didn't have low-sodium soy sauce so I used 1/2 cup regular soy sauce + 1/4 cup water to substitute. As per some other reviews I added 2 bay leaves and 1/2 TBSP of peppercorns. It only had to cook 4 hours in my slow cooker and the meat was falling off the bone! Thanks for a delicious and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
it completly feel off the bones.. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I love chicken adobo, I ate it a lot growing up on a navy base in Hawaii that had a lot of philipenos. I will say this is pretty authentic. I personally cut back on the vinegar for my boyfriends sake (he doesnt know athing about foreign food), but keep in mind thats how this is suppose to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 548) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States