Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This is a quick version of adobo. I recommend you try an authentic stovetop recipe first before a crockpot version so you can make changes based on knowing what it should taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Howth, County Dublin, Ireland
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This was great!!! My husband spent a couple of years in the Phillippines and has always wanted to have more rice dishes. I heard him talking about Adobo but had not been able to make it well. This recipe worked really well for us. I did follow the advice of other posters and added 1 Tbsp of peppercorns to the recipe and put a little less of the vinegar (white distilled). My husband and I loved it and the kids even finished what we gave them. The leftovers were just as good as the night of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I make this recipe on a fairly regular basis. I like that it is quick (prep time, that is) easy, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
It was okay. I'm also Filipina and my mother made this a staple as we were growing up. Like others have reported, she added bay leaves and peppercorns but there were no onions in it. This is good for throwing into the crockpot and having something hot and tangy to eat when you come home, but it wasn't quite what I think of as truly authentic. Close, but no ceeeegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This recipe is a very flavorful dish and easy to prepare. I wouldn't say it was my absolute favorite of all but it's a tasty and different change for dinner. I will make it again every now and then. I used apple cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Everybody loved it! followed others suggestions and added a tablespoon of sugar, couple of bay leaves, dash of ground ginger and and also some hoisin sauce. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
So easy and delicious. Adobo was not meant to be sweet like a previous poster mentioned and this recipe (in my opinion) is in perfect proportion. White vinegar is a must. Our county fair has an awesome adobo concession stand and I'm so glad to be able to have it more than once a year! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgeon Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Great Recipe!! Yummy and Super easy! Wonderful with the Broccoli and Rice Stir fry from this site as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Kansas, USA
Living In: Piedmont, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Honestly, this was blah to me. Idk if I did something wrong or what, but it didn't taste as flavorful as Adobo I've had in the past. Won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Had to tweak it a bit , but came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickie1200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 544) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States