Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Used powdered garlic instead of fresh and balsamic vinegar and still the family ate it up. very simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Dish was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I took advice from other reviewers and now know where I would change it next time. Definitely need 2 bay leaves, don't need sugar but if you do make it no more than 1 Tablespoon. I used 1/2 cup soy and 1/2 cup white vinegar and didn't feel it had any strong vinegar taste. Here's the big thing though...I cooked mine on low for 5 hours and it was falling apart and the breasts were dried out. That ruined it for me. I'd rather have juicy, moist chicken and I think that's really how this should have been. Anyway, it opens the door on Adobo for me and I'm willing to try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
We didn't care for this recipe at all. I added some ginger as suggested by another reviewer and a couple Thai chili peppers for a extra little heat but it was still very blah. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This is definitely a great starting point for adobo but has to be tweaked a little to make it taste much more flavorful. I lowered my soy sauce to 1/2 cup and used 1/3 cup of rice vinegar and added whole black peppercorn, more garlic, bay leaves, minced ginger, and a tea spoon of brown sugar. It tasted more refined when I tweaked it and definitely don't use JUST skinless chicken breasts like I did. The fat from the chicken adds more depth to the flavor and juiciness otherwise the chicken just comes up fairly dry. I'm trying Pork Adobo next time as I love pork adobo more than chicken :P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I never cooked chicken adobe in a slow cooker before. I added whole dried bay leaves & onions - like I use when preparing on the stove. With back to school and football - I have less time in the evening to prepare meals. I am so glad that I could provide one of my family favorites using my slow cooker. The chicken over fresh steamed rice with steamed spinach is a perfect meal. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Very easy recipe and the house smells AMAZING. But there isn't a lot of flavor and the white meat on the chicken still came up very dry even though it looks moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This dish was easy to prepare, but lacked flavor. I browned the chicken first before adding to crock pot and left the skin on. If I make again I need to add a little something to the sauce just unsure of what at this time. Served with baby gold potatoes and carrots ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
My family loved this recipe! When I can get all 3 kids and my husband on board, I definitely keep it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I used half a cup soy sauce,and half a cup rice vinegar. I was worried about it being sour,so I added 2T brown sugar. It was delicious, and so easy. I also browned the chicken before putting it in the slow cooker, then poured the sauce over it, and left it to marinade for 15mins, before turning the slow cooker on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States