Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Pretty good! It's close to my husband and daughters brothy type of adobo. I usually cook my adobo in a stove top but i got lazy and just wanted to throw in my frozen large drumsticks in a crock pot and walk away while doing other house work. I never add onions to my adobos but sometimes I do add potatoes 10-15 minutes (depending how big the cut is) before the chicken is done. It may be a little salty from the biginning but that's okay. The chicken needs to absorb the saltiness from the soy sauce, just add water half way through the cooking process. The first few hours is just a marination stage. I also had to add the other common ingredients which were 2 bay leaves and half tablespoon of peppercorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I enjoyed cooking this recipes. quick and fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
this smelled good cooking but wasn't very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIAMONDJOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
My changes were: 2 bay leaves, equal 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar and soy sauce, 2 TBL brown sugar 3/4 tsp ginger, 5 cloves garlic, 1 onion and 1/2 cup broth water. Best part was the fall-off-the-bone tenderness, but the taste didn't appeal to us. Leftovers will be used in chicken salad instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This was pretty darn good! I substituted 1/4 cup of water for soy sauce and added fresh mushrooms at the end. Served it over wheat pasta, but totally could have done crusty bread for dipping :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
So yummy! I followed another reviewer's advice and omittd the onions. I only had 1/2 of soy sauce and it was not too tangy. It was perfect! I would recommend using dark meat as the breast meat gets a little dry cooking this long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I was completely surprised and blown away by the taste! This is an awesome recipe exactly as is! Try it first before you decide to modify it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I have always loved Adobo and this recipe is very similiar to what my family has always made. We serve over jasmine rice with some fresh crushed tomatoes. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
so easy, i used white wine vinegar, and 10 cloves of garlic. it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was quite good. I've made other versions of Adoo Chicken and like the searing of the chicken first prior to cooking in the sauce better then just putting it in raw. Otherwise a keeper. I added coco milk, peppercorns, and bay leaves like others who've commented. My family ate it up and the house smelled great. Love the slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 545) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States