Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Essentially it is stewed chicken drenched in soy sauce. I make adobo, it is meant to be tangy with hints of vinegar, garlic. Some dishes simply need to be cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Actually 4.5 stars. Someone recommended this to me in a Recipe Buzz exchange and I decided to try it. The vote from my wife afterwards? ... "You can do this again. We can even serve this at one of our guest evenings". That was high praise indeed. I (of course) then did it a second time. It was still good. The third time I tweaked! I added some fresh ginger. And that was a nice little addition so I will be doing that in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swiss Phil

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bern, Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Oh my, this was delicious! I didn't have low-sodium soy sauce so I used 1/2 cup regular soy sauce + 1/4 cup water to substitute. As per some other reviews I added 2 bay leaves and 1/2 TBSP of peppercorns. It only had to cook 4 hours in my slow cooker and the meat was falling off the bone! Thanks for a delicious and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
it completly feel off the bones.. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I love chicken adobo, I ate it a lot growing up on a navy base in Hawaii that had a lot of philipenos. I will say this is pretty authentic. I personally cut back on the vinegar for my boyfriends sake (he doesnt know athing about foreign food), but keep in mind thats how this is suppose to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I made it as directed with rice wine vinegar, served it over rice and it made the "favorite list" of my 8yr old. Really super recipe, and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
My 2.5yr old - who eats nothing - ate an entire drumstick!! I amended the recipe as per the comments - adding the brown sugar, bay leaves and decreasing the soy sauce to 1/4c and using red wine vinegar. This will definitely be a repeating dish in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
way too salty, even with low sodium soy sauce. I added a bit of brown sugar, which helped slightly. Not at all what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
What I do, is add bamboo shoots drained, sliced water chestnuts drained, sliced mushrooms, black pepper, and about 1/2 cup water to cut down on saltiness of soy sauce. I used apple cider vinegar, but will be trying the white vinegar, next time. My family loves chicken adobo served with steamed white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
4 stars made as is...delicious. The second time I made it I changed it to my taste which was simply to use all dark meat (skinless), used about 3/4 cup vinegar, and 1/2 cup dry white wine. I then added 2 TB cornstarch mixed with 3 TB cold water to thicken the sauce just a little. I think the other variations suggested make for good dishes but get away from the basic essence of adobo chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States