Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken with Bok Choy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Wow, tender meat falls right off the bone. Very flavorful. Didn't add the sugar and it was delightful just the same! Gathered some fresh chard from the garden, sauteed with garlic and served with the chicken instead of bok choy. Perfect! Entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Really tasty, light, easy meal. Very different taste with all of the vinegar. The bok choy is a nice touch, and I used a bit more. I served it with brown rice and a salad. Kiddos even approved. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Extremely easy, healthy, and tasty. Throw everything in the slow cooker and you're done! My husband and I make slow cooker dinners about three times a week and we often try recipes that end up lacking in flavor, but we really liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This is a fabulouse recipe and easy. I made rice with it because there is so much flavorful juice. I recommend this anytime and is great for a covered dish dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This was quite sour. My first bite, I actually coughed as I swallowed the sour sauce, and my husband and 4 kids looked up at me expectantly....not wanting to taint their view, I said, "it's a bit hot (temperature-wise.)" My 2-year-old said, "sour" about 20 times while she was eating it. If I make this again, I'll do half chicken broth and half vinegar, just to cut down on the sour taste. My friend who lived in the Philippines for 2 years liked it and said that's the way chicken adobo is. I didn't serve it with rice (but with bread) so that probably made it seem more sour. Safeway was out of bok choy, so I used kale and red cabbage, which turned out well (probably healthier than bok choy, too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I scaled this down to one serving and made it in my smallest slow cooker with just two thighs. 5 minutes was perfect for the bok choy. Thanks for an easy, tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This was a fantastic recipe and I'll make it again! I changed it a tad by adding in 2 Tbsps brown sugar and a cup of water. The chicken just fell apart it was so tender. I also served rice with diced avocado. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Royalton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Good recipe, I only added 1/4 cup cider vinegar. Don't stir or touch the whole pot ,about 20-30 mins. until vinegar has evaporated, so no vinegary taste.Let it cook until it falls off the bone. Best served with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I thought this was going to be to sour because I had read other reviews, but it really wasn't. The vinegar taste was very subtle. I did use 10 pieces of chicken instead of 8. I'm not sure if that makes a difference. But the chicken literally fell off the bone, and the bok choy was so awesome. Served it with brown rice. Will DEFINITELY make this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malia Brinkley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This was easy and delicious. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States