Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken with Bok Choy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Cor135
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Very good; lessen the apple cider vinegar to only a 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cor135

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
love this dish! I've attempted to make adobo a few times but it always turned out sour because of too much vinegar. This has the right amount of vinegar. I used a different type of bok choy called yuchoy. The only vegetable close enough to bok choy. It was still so good. I will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
My husband loved it. He said it tasted almost as good as traditionally cooked :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
The vinegar just overpowered everything and there simply was nothing else you could taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I was very pleased with this recipe. I had 12 chicken thighs so that is what I cooked but without increasing the other ingredients. Oh, and I can't get bok choy here so I used swiss chard. Don't forget the green onions at the end - they make a big difference! I had lots of sauce at the end so I decided to thicken it up just a little bit. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANEYLORENE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bergamo, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Followed the recipe. Served over brown rice. Very Good. Only change I would make is use boneless chicken. May try boneless chicken breasts next time but the thighs added great flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This was so easy to make! I was a little scared when I saw 8 hours cooking time, but I programmed my slow cooker by temperature, not by time, and the chicken was up to 165 degrees in just over 4 hours on low. It was very tender, and I was surprised at what a sweet taste the chicken, and especially the onions, had! I would definitely make rice next time to put this over. There is so much sauce, and it's too thin to eat without something else to absorb it. I suspect adding some apples in the slow cooker would be a great addition to this recipe. I'll try that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This was easy and delicious. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I thought this was going to be to sour because I had read other reviews, but it really wasn't. The vinegar taste was very subtle. I did use 10 pieces of chicken instead of 8. I'm not sure if that makes a difference. But the chicken literally fell off the bone, and the bok choy was so awesome. Served it with brown rice. Will DEFINITELY make this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Good recipe, I only added 1/4 cup cider vinegar. Don't stir or touch the whole pot ,about 20-30 mins. until vinegar has evaporated, so no vinegary taste.Let it cook until it falls off the bone. Best served with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States