Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken with Bok Choy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
We love this recipe! The only thing I do differently is to put all the ingredients except the bok Choy and green onions in a Ziploc and let marinate all day then bake in the oven instead of using a slow cooker. All I have to say to my daughter is that I'm making her favorite chicken and she's sure to be home for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Thrams Kampf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
this was very tasty and the vinegar wasn't overpowering to us.. i only cooked it for 4 hours which was plenty to get the chicken fall off the bone tender.. i cut this in half and used 3 thighs and 1 drumstick.. left out the brown sugar and green onion.. subbed regular cabbage for the bok choy and left it in there for longer than 5 min's to cook.. idk how long it was but i thought it was more like 15-20 mins to get it tender.. took everything but the liquid out of the crockpot and stirred in some pasta and let it cook/soak everything up.. me and bf were very happy with the meal.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This recipe is very good and easy. We added Sriracha sauce for a kick. I may try with cilantro instead of green onions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This is advertised as a Paleo dish. Soy sauce is not Paleo-friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RFalgout
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
It is delicious. I loved the taste of the gravy, it had a nice asian taste. The only changes I made was using 1 1/2 times the ingredients to have more sauce to almost cover the chicken and used two heads of Bok Choy. After putting in the sliced two heads of Bok Choy at the end, the large oval crock pot was full to the lid. After about 30 min the Bok Choy cooked down nicely and it also added a little more liquid to the pot. I added pics. The gravy was not sour at all. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I don't know what flavor my family was expecting, but this was not a keeper. The meat was nice and tender, looked like pulled pork or shredded barbecue after it was done. But the taste was not something they cared for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I tried this for the first time tonight. Stuck to the recipe except that I cooked it on high for 4 hours instead of low for 8 hours. It turned out great--so easy to make, delicious with rice. The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TFRach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Too vinegary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
The vinegar taste was too strong. Had to add 2 more tablespoons of sugar to balance the flavours and make it palatable. I've made Adobo chicken with a Filipino friend before, and it didn't taste like the Adobo chicken in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
My 1 year old loves this chicken, which surprised me. I like it prepared according to the recipe but some people might want to add more brown sugar if they find the apple cider vinegar overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States