Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken with Bok Choy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Wow, tender meat falls right off the bone. Very flavorful. Didn't add the sugar and it was delightful just the same! Gathered some fresh chard from the garden, sauteed with garlic and served with the chicken instead of bok choy. Perfect! Entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This was quite sour. My first bite, I actually coughed as I swallowed the sour sauce, and my husband and 4 kids looked up at me expectantly....not wanting to taint their view, I said, "it's a bit hot (temperature-wise.)" My 2-year-old said, "sour" about 20 times while she was eating it. If I make this again, I'll do half chicken broth and half vinegar, just to cut down on the sour taste. My friend who lived in the Philippines for 2 years liked it and said that's the way chicken adobo is. I didn't serve it with rice (but with bread) so that probably made it seem more sour. Safeway was out of bok choy, so I used kale and red cabbage, which turned out well (probably healthier than bok choy, too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This was a fantastic recipe and I'll make it again! I changed it a tad by adding in 2 Tbsps brown sugar and a cup of water. The chicken just fell apart it was so tender. I also served rice with diced avocado. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Royalton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Good recipe, I only added 1/4 cup cider vinegar. Don't stir or touch the whole pot ,about 20-30 mins. until vinegar has evaporated, so no vinegary taste.Let it cook until it falls off the bone. Best served with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I scaled this down to one serving and made it in my smallest slow cooker with just two thighs. 5 minutes was perfect for the bok choy. Thanks for an easy, tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This is a fabulouse recipe and easy. I made rice with it because there is so much flavorful juice. I recommend this anytime and is great for a covered dish dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Really tasty, light, easy meal. Very different taste with all of the vinegar. The bok choy is a nice touch, and I used a bit more. I served it with brown rice and a salad. Kiddos even approved. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Extremely easy, healthy, and tasty. Throw everything in the slow cooker and you're done! My husband and I make slow cooker dinners about three times a week and we often try recipes that end up lacking in flavor, but we really liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I was very pleased with this recipe. I had 12 chicken thighs so that is what I cooked but without increasing the other ingredients. Oh, and I can't get bok choy here so I used swiss chard. Don't forget the green onions at the end - they make a big difference! I had lots of sauce at the end so I decided to thicken it up just a little bit. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANEYLORENE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bergamo, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cor135
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Very good; lessen the apple cider vinegar to only a 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cor135

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States