Slow-Cooked White Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Very good base recipe. I customized just a little to suit our tastes. I tripled the recipe (fills a large crock pot 3/4 of the way) and doubled the amount of chiles after that! I also added more spices (chili powder, cayenne, salt, pepper) because we like our food that way! I thickened it up a bit by taking one of the cans of white beans and mashing it, then adding to the mixture. This is my first taste of white chili and I have to say that I was very pleased! Filling, healthy and tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This was perfect for a healthy, low-fat, low sodium meal--I added more water and Penzey's soup base to make it more like a soup, but I will try it as chili also. I used corn scraped off the cob and another can of northern beans in place of the garbanzo beans. I followed the suggestion of TOBSCHOLARLY and mashed the beans of one can to thicken--it worked great. We garnished with shredded cheese, sour cream, and salsa and ate with Tostitos Scoops! Great recipe--I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I've never made white chili before, and using this as a base recipe it came out great! I spiced it up, using a tsp of cumin, and cayenne and chili powder to taste. I also doubled the green chilies. Hubby and I like it spicy! I used chicken broth instead of water and chicken boulion, and bumped it us to 3 cans of beans, smashing one of them before adding. I followed others suggestions and added some sour cream before serving. It turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anna, Illinois, USA
Living In: Herrin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
i wanted to save $ so i used dried navy beans soaked overnight. since i used the dried beans i added an extra half c water. i also had to cook everything on high 4 hrs and then low 2 hours. in my experience dried beans wont soften on low in a slow cooker even if they have been soaked overnight. i also doubled ALL of the spices because of the reviews and mashed some of the beans to make it creamy. it turned out great! hubby said this was the best thing i have made in my slow cooker(and i use mine all the time)i cant wait to try this with ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Excellent. I did double the green chilies and I also added a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies for a little color. I threw my chicken breasts in the slow cooker frozen and then just shredded them before serving. Super tasty topped with a little plain yogurt and chopped cilantro. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I LOVE this recipe! I have done it different ways - crock-pot, stovetop . . . I usually soak and cook my own white beans (maybe next time I'll use dried garbanzos, too), and I usually double it. I normally cheat and use canned chicken - 4 for a double batch (makes my cats happy, they get to lick the cans clean (= )Great with cornbread . . . Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was a decent base but overall the flavor was lacking. I added chili powder, more cumin, more garlic and a dash of lime juice but it was still lacking something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Gutierrez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I loved the way this turned out! Has a great flavor and I will definitely make it again. I did stir in 1/4 cup low-fat sour cream 5 minutes before serving to thicken the sauce a bit. I also recommend topping with a little shredded cheese if you like your tomato-based chili taht way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Instead of a slow cooker, I sauteed the onion, garlic & chicken in a dutch oven. I added remaining ingredients and simmered until the cannellini beans started to fall apart. In lieu of water, I used 32 oz. chicken broth, which I believe added more flavor. Next time, will add chopped celery and green pepper for additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michiganfoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was too bland and lacking of substance for us. I will try again using 6 chicken breast, put them straight into the slow cooker, cover with water and cook until they shredd. I will remove a lot of the 'broth' and set aside in case I need to add some back. Will add black beans, garbanzo beans, and frozen corn, chipotle, cayenne, and Greek seasoning while following the recipe from this point. Greek seasoning can really add to soups and stews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States