Slow-Cooked White Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
A bit watery and bland for us as written. Used an immersion blender to get some thickness and a dollop of sour cream for good measure. Also ramped up the spice-factor with extra cumin, chili powder and whatever other seasonings may have bee in my site. This brought it up to a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Enjoyable, but rather plain, for chili. Probably a good start, but spice it up as you wish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This was a very nice change from traditional chili. Used 2 cans white kidney beans instead of the garbanzo beans. Added extra seasonings; cumin, chili powder, garlic powder etc. Also thickened the chili with cornstarch at the end and added 1 cup of salsa right at the end of cooking! MMM!!! and healthy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle Lake, Maine, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I doubled this recipe and it still wasn't quite enough for my family. As was suggested, I pureed some of the beans to thicken it up. Next time I think I will add some salsa to jazz it up a bit and add more flavor to balance out the cumin. Overall a very good recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This recipe was very bland. I doctored it with a lot of salt and pepper and some cheddar cheese and it was much better. Will try other white chili recipes before making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This was awesome to use as a taco (or burrito) filling. I omitted the beans and corn so that it was more like carne asada, and put toppings and condiments out on the table so that my family could assemble their tacos however they liked. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
My family loves this dinner. It is so easy to fix and is great with sweet cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This chili left us a little cold. The basic flavor was good, but bland. The comments mainly were "tasty, but missing something". We used Great Northern and Navy Beans. This barely made a 3 star rating. With more seasonings it could be a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Great flavor. Very easy. Will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison and Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Had to add a little extra spice but good base recipe for a white chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States