Slow-Cooked White Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I LOVE this recipe! I have done it different ways - crock-pot, stovetop . . . I usually soak and cook my own white beans (maybe next time I'll use dried garbanzos, too), and I usually double it. I normally cheat and use canned chicken - 4 for a double batch (makes my cats happy, they get to lick the cans clean (= )Great with cornbread . . . Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bgoughs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I sub black beans for the garbanzo beans and think this turns out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjamison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Tastes great! Used 2 cans of northern white beans instead of the garbanzo beans. Also added chili powder and some Adobo for a little more flavor. Serving w/ corn bread, cilantro, and some chopped avocado. very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Even though some of the reviews said this was bland we gave it a shot and it turned out to be very bland, even after we tried to spice it up a bit :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justin and jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I ended up making this from memory (the power was out, and we needed a meal!) and it got rave reviews from the in-laws. We had it with cornbread muffins and it was great. Changes: a chicken carcass was used to make a broth. I added a small can of green peas, and mexicorn instead of plain corn. I used Penzey's seasoning mix instead of cumin. Thanks Lori for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This is a great tasting chili! I scooped out about 2 cups and using a stick blender, pureed just enough to thicken the broth. With the added texture difference it made the chili seem heartier. I have made this chili a few times and always gotten great reviews. I will contiune to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This chili has an excellent flavor. My only complaint is that is is a little too thin for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
The recipe, as it is written, is a great base. After reading the reviews I decided to make a few additions of my own; starting with adding into the onions chopped green & red peppers, using chicken stock instead of water, throwing in cayenne & white pepper for a little more kick and then adding corn meal at the very end to thicken & give it some additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jerseygrrrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I liked it but I didn't love it. I did puree 1/2 a can of beans to make it thicker and it was thick like a chili. I thought it lacked flavor and I did double the cumin and added chili powder. The other thing I did was use a beef cube instead of chicken because it's what I had. I don't know if I will ever make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States