Slow-Cooked White Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I LOVE this recipe! I have done it different ways - crock-pot, stovetop . . . I usually soak and cook my own white beans (maybe next time I'll use dried garbanzos, too), and I usually double it. I normally cheat and use canned chicken - 4 for a double batch (makes my cats happy, they get to lick the cans clean (= )Great with cornbread . . . Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bgoughs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I sub black beans for the garbanzo beans and think this turns out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjamison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Tastes great! Used 2 cans of northern white beans instead of the garbanzo beans. Also added chili powder and some Adobo for a little more flavor. Serving w/ corn bread, cilantro, and some chopped avocado. very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Even though some of the reviews said this was bland we gave it a shot and it turned out to be very bland, even after we tried to spice it up a bit :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justin and jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I ended up making this from memory (the power was out, and we needed a meal!) and it got rave reviews from the in-laws. We had it with cornbread muffins and it was great. Changes: a chicken carcass was used to make a broth. I added a small can of green peas, and mexicorn instead of plain corn. I used Penzey's seasoning mix instead of cumin. Thanks Lori for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This is a great tasting chili! I scooped out about 2 cups and using a stick blender, pureed just enough to thicken the broth. With the added texture difference it made the chili seem heartier. I have made this chili a few times and always gotten great reviews. I will contiune to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This chili has an excellent flavor. My only complaint is that is is a little too thin for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
The recipe, as it is written, is a great base. After reading the reviews I decided to make a few additions of my own; starting with adding into the onions chopped green & red peppers, using chicken stock instead of water, throwing in cayenne & white pepper for a little more kick and then adding corn meal at the very end to thicken & give it some additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jerseygrrrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I liked it but I didn't love it. I did puree 1/2 a can of beans to make it thicker and it was thick like a chili. I thought it lacked flavor and I did double the cumin and added chili powder. The other thing I did was use a beef cube instead of chicken because it's what I had. I don't know if I will ever make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States