Slow-Cooked White Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Claire Williams Hanes
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I used only 3 cans of navy beans, cut the chicken breasts in half and put them in raw. Shredded the meat after it was mostly cooked. REALLY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This quickly became a staple in my house. What a great slow cooker recipe! I didn't alter the recipe much (added yellow corn and zucchini for more veggies). I used the same spices as listed, just a lot more of them. I probably use on the order of 3 tablespoons of cumin and a few teaspoons of oregano... I am not shy of spices/flavor and this came out delicious! I also only browned the chicken before adding it to the cooker (salt a peppered the chicken before browning and pour the drippings in the pot along with the cx for flavor). I serve in a bowl, sprinkle fresh cilantro on top, squeeze on some lime, and add a dollop of sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
i adapted to what i had on hand, along with reducing the serving size. it was a bit watery for me, but after serving it over a bed of crushed up tortilla chips it was just fine. thanks for the post skw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This is a delicious chili, very simple and quick to prepare. I added an extra can of chicken stock, 1/2 C verde salsa, chopped carrots and red peppers, and made it a day ahead. A five star winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I made this for a tailgate recently. Thinking it 'looked weird', I wasn't sure how well this would go over (not being a traditional chili). I doubled the recipe and people came back for seconds. There wasn't a single leftover! I made it with shredded chicken tenders rather than chopped chicken. I had numerous people ask for the recipe (including a family from Texas where beef and red chili rules). Definitely a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LFERRON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I found it very bland. I make use of it my smothering it in Saracha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
These were good but doesn't compare with our favorite white chili. It's great for working moms and easy for husband to put something together lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I used half the amount of corn, wish I would have used jalapeno peppers instead of green chiles. Next time, because there will be a next time :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Made this recipe as written but for subbing grated Vidalia onion for dried, not precooking the chicken, and cooked it on high for 5 hrs. Topped with jack cheese and sour cream. Very flavorful! Don't cut back on the beans! We loved it and will make again. Thanks for sharing, SKW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I made this recipe exctly as written except I used 4 cans of beans and frozen corn instead of canned. It turned out good, but was VERY spicy. If you are planning on feeding this to kids, you might want to reduce the amount of chiles and red pepper flakes. My kids couldn't eat it because of the spice, but loved the flavor. I also thought the amount of liquid was very low for how many beans were in this recipe. I am making it again today but instead using a 32oz carton of chicken broth and reducing the chiles and red pepper flake by half. Hopefully it isn't as spicy this time, becuase it really has a great flavor otherwise. It's also very good with a dallop of sour cream added when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States