Slow-Cooked White Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Really good and easy...but I made a few changes. I used 4lbs of boneless skinless breasts cut into bite sized pieces. I did not cook before adding to crock....I added it raw with everything else. I also only used 2 cans of small white beans....thought 5 cans of beans to 2 lbs of chicken seemed off. So I upped the chicken and reduced the amount of beans and this ratio of 4 lbs of chicken to 2 cans of beans seemed better. I used frozen corn, 1/2 a bag. Added a chopped vidalia onion instead of dried minced, added a yellow squash diced to add more veg factor to the dish and also added a can of rotel. Served with white cheddar cheese and sour cream. Very easy and yummy crockpot recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Slow-cooked White Chili Haiku: "I reduced the beans. Coz wow, that would be alot! Leftovers.AWESOME." My daughter (young, and starting to get the same weekly-chili-urges that I do) made a big fuss when she saw this. Really irate meltdown b/c it didn't look like traditional chili. I let her sit there squeaking, turned away to do the dishes (as I'd already inhaled my bowl), and to my glee, hear her shoveling away b/t "mmm" noises, as she realized after a nibble that this chili was fantastic. To make this even easier, please no tsk-tsk, I used 2 large cans of chicken from Costco (it's really good stuff, and I know alot of AR folks are snobbish about canned chicken), and also used 1/2 chopped yellow pepper, and 1/2 chopped onion, instead of dried. As faithful as I could be to this recipe, I have to say that I loved it (even better the 2nd day) and look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This chili was really good. I halved the recipe, but added 2 cans of white kidney beans and 1 can of black beans. I halved the amount of chilies in case it was too hot and added a fresh onion and some garlic. I also added about 1/2 cup of herdez green salsa to the cooker. I didn't see the point of cooking the chicken before hand when it's just going to cook in the slow cooker so I just threw it in. The 1/2 batch easily fit into my 3.5 quart slow cooker. I cooked it on "simmer" (one setting below "low") for 8 hours. The end result was delicious with a bit of heat. I topped it with sour cream and had some garlic bread with it. I would probably decrease the amount of chicken broth next time (probably to only about 1/2 a cup) because it ended up being a bit watery or more soupy . Otherwise this is great! Nice change from traditional "red" chilies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Generally I don't make a recipe if it has less that 100 reviews. But this one intrigued me, and rightly so. It was perfect! I didn't have everything on hand so I did make a couple of substitutions (I don't think this would have affected flavor much): Used chopped fresh onion instead of dried minced Used fire roasted chilies (it's what I had in the pantry) Used 2 cans Great Northern Beans (again, what I had, and 5 cans seemed like WAY too much) Used frozen corn. Hubby had 2 helpings then had it for lunch 2 days in a row. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I only used 3 cans of beans based on comments by others. I don't think 5 would have been too many though after making this. It made a nice change from all the tomato based chillies out there. Next time, I might uses a mix of different beans to give it some color and perhaps yellow corn also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horatio, Arkansas, USA
Living In: De Queen, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I was lazy and I just threw the turkey I was using and the broth in with everything at the beginning to let it cook, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Made this recipe as written but for subbing grated Vidalia onion for dried, not precooking the chicken, and cooked it on high for 5 hrs. Topped with jack cheese and sour cream. Very flavorful! Don't cut back on the beans! We loved it and will make again. Thanks for sharing, SKW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I used half the amount of corn, wish I would have used jalapeno peppers instead of green chiles. Next time, because there will be a next time :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I made this recipe exctly as written except I used 4 cans of beans and frozen corn instead of canned. It turned out good, but was VERY spicy. If you are planning on feeding this to kids, you might want to reduce the amount of chiles and red pepper flakes. My kids couldn't eat it because of the spice, but loved the flavor. I also thought the amount of liquid was very low for how many beans were in this recipe. I am making it again today but instead using a 32oz carton of chicken broth and reducing the chiles and red pepper flake by half. Hopefully it isn't as spicy this time, becuase it really has a great flavor otherwise. It's also very good with a dallop of sour cream added when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Amazing! I didn't cook the chicken first, and I did use all 5 cans of beans but I put one in the blender with the broth to thicken it up. It was a little too spicy for my kids but they tried to eat it and asked that I make it again, so next time I am using only 1/4 tsp red chile and making sure I use the mild chile peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States