Slow-Cooked White Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I made this recipe exctly as written except I used 4 cans of beans and frozen corn instead of canned. It turned out good, but was VERY spicy. If you are planning on feeding this to kids, you might want to reduce the amount of chiles and red pepper flakes. My kids couldn't eat it because of the spice, but loved the flavor. I also thought the amount of liquid was very low for how many beans were in this recipe. I am making it again today but instead using a 32oz carton of chicken broth and reducing the chiles and red pepper flake by half. Hopefully it isn't as spicy this time, becuase it really has a great flavor otherwise. It's also very good with a dallop of sour cream added when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Very delicious and fairly easy- I did make some changes: 1. Sauteed garlic and onions before adding chicken and brother (instead of using dried versions) 2. Fried up some fresh bacon to use as a garnish....BONUS- pour bacon grease directly into crock pot for added flavor! 3. Thickened up with corn starch mixed with water...makes for a much thicker consistency! 4. I used more chicken and a can less navy beans per others' advice Serve with cornbread, sour cream, extra sharp cheddar, and aforementioned bacon bits...YUM! It's a hit with my boyfriend and he's requested a batch for his buddies at work! Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Amazing! I didn't cook the chicken first, and I did use all 5 cans of beans but I put one in the blender with the broth to thicken it up. It was a little too spicy for my kids but they tried to eat it and asked that I make it again, so next time I am using only 1/4 tsp red chile and making sure I use the mild chile peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I was disappointed. I followed the instructions exactly except that I did not pre-cook the chicken (I did marinate it for a few hours in the chicken broth in the frig though). I found this chili to be bland. Tastes like chicken and been stew. I've never made White Chili before but this recipe definitely needs something. I agree that there were too many beans. And not enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Cooked this for a football game watch get-together and received rave reviews. Easy and tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is a nice change from the regular tomato based chili. The first time I made this I was a little concerned about the five cans of beans, so I cut it way back and only added only one can of beans, corn and green chilies. I kept the chicken broth the same and about one pound of breasts. It turned out fine. Adding a little dollup of sourcream and cheese to the individual bowls really made the dish. Family even commented that it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitbull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I added more meat and less beans ... mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This was ok, it needed to be a bit thicker. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This recipes was a huge hit with a crowd of 20 picky eaters. I took the recommendations of some of the reviewers below: Used 3lbs of chicken, only 1-1/2 cans of cut chilis (it was plenty spicy), and reduced the amount of navy beans to 2 cans. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I only used 3 cans of beans based on comments by others. I don't think 5 would have been too many though after making this. It made a nice change from all the tomato based chillies out there. Next time, I might uses a mix of different beans to give it some color and perhaps yellow corn also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horatio, Arkansas, USA
Living In: De Queen, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States