Slow Cooked Venison Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This recipe is a keeper. I am not a big venison eater, but my kids and husband are. I even ate this meal. It was tender and tasted great. It tasted like barbaqued spare ribs!!! I will keep this recipe on hand and use it again. I did not find just a chile-garlic sauce, so I used Cholula chile-garlic sauce. The sauce and the meat had a zing to it. I did not cook the onion and garlic before hand. I put everything in the crock pot and it sat overnight in the fridge. I cooked it on low all day. I then made some rice and served the meat and sauce over the rice. It was a very tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Buhl, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I have been eating and cooking venison my whole life. This is my favorite preparation! I swapped a tablespoon of Worchestershire for the liquid smoke, added a julienned green pepper toward the end of cooking time, and served it over rice. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washburn, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Turtle Lake, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Auntie M
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Great! I cut out the liquid smoke (not a fan) but it turned out fantastic. The meat fell apart as I was taking it out of the crock pot. I used the leftovers for pulled venison tacos and it was fab! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Taylor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
The favors are STRONG! This is a good recipe if you need to cover the taste of venison that wasn't properly cared for in the field or is getting old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Very good recipe. I replaced the liquid smoke with more Worchestershire sauce. Also, I cooked the roast on low for almost 5 hours and it was a little overdone. I will check the roast temp more closely next time and will probably stop closer to 4 hours. I'm not a big venison lover, but my husband is. This recipe made vension very enjoyable for me and my husband loved it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Awesome! Easy to make and the whole family loved it, even the kids! I didn't have any chile-garlic sauce so I used asian sweet chili sauce instead! Turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
We LOVE this recipe but chose to use 1 or 2 TB of green jalapeno tabasco instead of the chili sauce. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I am a vegetarian, but my husband is a hunter. I made this recipe and he was salivating. I could not find Chile-garlic, so I purchased the Chile sauce and added crushed garlic. Thank you so very much for this recipe, will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I give this recipe one star for originality. Unfortunately this recipe is sooooo spicey that my mouth is still burning 30 minute after ingesting it. I even cut back on the recipes spicey ingredients, I can only imagine if I hadn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This recipe was a HUGE hit in my house. My in-laws ate with us and have been begging for the recipe. So glad to have another way to cook all the deer meat in our freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States