Slow Cooked Venison Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This recipe is a keeper. I am not a big venison eater, but my kids and husband are. I even ate this meal. It was tender and tasted great. It tasted like barbaqued spare ribs!!! I will keep this recipe on hand and use it again. I did not find just a chile-garlic sauce, so I used Cholula chile-garlic sauce. The sauce and the meat had a zing to it. I did not cook the onion and garlic before hand. I put everything in the crock pot and it sat overnight in the fridge. I cooked it on low all day. I then made some rice and served the meat and sauce over the rice. It was a very tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Buhl, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
The favors are STRONG! This is a good recipe if you need to cover the taste of venison that wasn't properly cared for in the field or is getting old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
The venison turned out great, but it was much too spicy. I would suggest cutting back on the chile-garlic sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
We LOVE this recipe but chose to use 1 or 2 TB of green jalapeno tabasco instead of the chili sauce. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I really liked this. I like heat though. I think those who don't care for spicy heat they should cut the sirachi sauce down. I did sprinkle a little brown sugar in the sauce. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I have been eating and cooking venison my whole life. This is my favorite preparation! I swapped a tablespoon of Worchestershire for the liquid smoke, added a julienned green pepper toward the end of cooking time, and served it over rice. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washburn, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Turtle Lake, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
My husband loved this recipe. Will probably use a little less pepper next time but mainly cause I'm pregnant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Excellent Recipe!! I am a huge fan of spicy foods and this is one of my new favorites. My fiance doesn't really care for venison much and she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This one is a keeper! My entire family loved this and I will definitely be making this in the future. I didn't have garlic or onions so I used onion and garlic powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Excellent and easy recipe. If you enjoy spicy foods, this has just the right amount of heat (it won't burn you). If you can't do spice, just back off of the chile-garlic (sriracha is what I used.) I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States