Slow Cooked Venison Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This recipe is a keeper. I am not a big venison eater, but my kids and husband are. I even ate this meal. It was tender and tasted great. It tasted like barbaqued spare ribs!!! I will keep this recipe on hand and use it again. I did not find just a chile-garlic sauce, so I used Cholula chile-garlic sauce. The sauce and the meat had a zing to it. I did not cook the onion and garlic before hand. I put everything in the crock pot and it sat overnight in the fridge. I cooked it on low all day. I then made some rice and served the meat and sauce over the rice. It was a very tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Buhl, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
The favors are STRONG! This is a good recipe if you need to cover the taste of venison that wasn't properly cared for in the field or is getting old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
The venison turned out great, but it was much too spicy. I would suggest cutting back on the chile-garlic sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
We LOVE this recipe but chose to use 1 or 2 TB of green jalapeno tabasco instead of the chili sauce. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I really liked this. I like heat though. I think those who don't care for spicy heat they should cut the sirachi sauce down. I did sprinkle a little brown sugar in the sauce. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I have been eating and cooking venison my whole life. This is my favorite preparation! I swapped a tablespoon of Worchestershire for the liquid smoke, added a julienned green pepper toward the end of cooking time, and served it over rice. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washburn, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Turtle Lake, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
My husband loved this recipe. Will probably use a little less pepper next time but mainly cause I'm pregnant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Excellent Recipe!! I am a huge fan of spicy foods and this is one of my new favorites. My fiance doesn't really care for venison much and she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This one is a keeper! My entire family loved this and I will definitely be making this in the future. I didn't have garlic or onions so I used onion and garlic powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Excellent and easy recipe. If you enjoy spicy foods, this has just the right amount of heat (it won't burn you). If you can't do spice, just back off of the chile-garlic (sriracha is what I used.) I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States