Slow Cooked Venison Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Way to salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cody Hovde
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Made this today with a 5 lb. Venison rump roast, so doubled the sauce. I used chili sauce instead of ketchup, as I wanted to use what I already had in my pantry. I did add 1/2 cup brown sugar to mellow the heat a tad! I cooked in oven at 250 degrees several hours, than made a fantastic gravy with all of that delicious sauce. Definetly make this again for company! (Should I be so lucky as to get another beautiful roast out of my boss next hunting season!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This was excellent and quite spicy. Personally I would cut back on the garlic-chile sauce but it's personal preference. Some loved the heat, others requested it be cut back next time. Overall very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
We were given deer meat and I've never cooked it and when I have eaten it before haven't cared for it. This recipe was perfect and tasted nothing like what I've eaten in the past. Kinda reminds me of beef tips. We served it over rice and it was so tender and delicious! My sister-in-law that said she doesn't eat deer meat even ate it and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This recipe is great around hunting season! The only thing that should be changed is the first step, its backwards. Sear your roast in the hot pan with olive oil, place in warm slow cooker. In the same pan you just seared the roast in brown the onion and garlic (dont wash the pan, use that flavor left behind by the roast!) You can also add your liquid ingredients and spices to the pan to warm and mix them while capturing the flavors left behind from the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
From what I learned by reading the reviews, I let the venison marinate in the sauce for a couple hours since I didn't have all night. Added about 6 oz of bacon towards the end because I was afraid of it drying out. It was probably a 2 pound ham, larger than called for. I did not add any liquid smoke since I don't like it. And also I cooked it for about an hour to an hour and a half longer than called for. I stuffed the meat into burritos and it tasted liked like heaven it was so good. Now I'm going to have to send my husband with our hunting friend so we can have venison burritos more often. Thank you so much for spending all those years perfecting an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Will def use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Tasty! There was no bad, strong odor in my opinion. My man was so impressed being that I am a beginner AND have never cooked venison. BUT DO leave it in the slow cooker long enough so it gets nice and tender. 4 1/2 hrs on low was not long enough for mine... had to throw it back in for a while longer. Served it on top of some couscous and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Love the taste! I add cider, potatoes, onions, and carrots to make it a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I just wasn't crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culpeper, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States